The "Got my D3"/ first impressions thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    I feel the same way about deliveries everytime I buy something online. I'm pretty impatient about it

    sent from my ApeX
     
  2. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would be nice! I'm sure they actually do use that internally as we do at my own shipping company, but externally... I imagine there are security/safety risks at hand. Think of the Sopranos.
     
  3. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    At this time by now I expected a lot more useful information/reviews about it from people who have gotten theirs. I'm sure I'm not the only one irritated by this fact.
     
  4. xjeff99
    Offline

    xjeff99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my D1, using Handcent, I can change the color of the LED Notification light for text messages. Is this an option for the D3 or will I have to get Handcent again?

     
  5. mattbooty
    Offline

    mattbooty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm more picturing a giant horde of impatient droid 3 buyers surrounding the fedex truck, a la the zombies surrounding the tank in the first episode of Walking Dead....
     
  6. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    True. They don't want everybody following around the truck that's loaded down with thousands of dollars worth of items...

    sent from my ApeX
     
  7. rushmore
    Offline

    rushmore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I can not recall a higher end phone not having a media review, this late in the game- ever. Been plenty of coverage, but no reviews. Very odd and hopefully not a reflection on the device.

    My concern is have the same low ram issues as the DX2. The audio pops and random reboots are also in mind. Also knowing if easy to root (sans the bootloader issue) so can remove bloat would be nice. Just to name a few questions.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  8. Stevelord
    Offline

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    In the Text Messages Settings, there is nothing on the LED. Again, I haven't found anything even referencing it on the phone yet.
     
  9. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If that happens, back to Verizon it goes! I haven't been keeping up as much on the phones as of late so the issues with DX2 are news to me. I'm upgrading from an OG Droid and mainly because I'm going overseas in 2 weeks needing a global phone and better camera. Otherwise I'd have waited. Everyone keeps raving about the Bionic, but it's a non-starter for me mostly because it has no slider keyboard. That otherwise puts me back in waiting mode for something on the horizon.

    My gut feeling is that the D3 is truly just a very intermediate phone with the real build up being for Droid 4... which would be all about LTE.
     
  10. Stevelord
    Offline

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    RAM is showing

    216MB used / 151MB free
     
  11. n8sco
    Offline

    n8sco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love mine so far. Definitely feels like a proper progression from my D1. I'm pleased. The only issue I'm having is trying to get used to motoblur since I've been used to stock android.
     
  12. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,141
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +213
    I don't think the issue was the RAM but the memory management of the Tegra2 processor....hence Motos quick switch to the OMAP for the D3 and Bionic.

    But we will see. Hoping the reviews come in soon as well.

    sent from somewhere...
     
  13. Stevelord
    Offline

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not noticing any hiccups so far. YouTube streams fast and looks great.

    Will try some Teamviewer and SplashTop action.
     
  14. JesterMX6
    Offline

    JesterMX6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    that doesn't seem right. which app are you using to monitor?
     
  15. Stevelord
    Offline

    Stevelord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    That's the built in MANAGE APPS section, when I click the RUNNING tab. Lists processes and services.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

pac man