The Complete Jellybean Thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by GigaJake, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    If you are rooted, safestrap makes things easy. Make nandroid, if stock start to behave badly, or just won't boot, restore a nandroid without having to flash the. xml
     
  2. droidbound

    droidbound Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1 for that.
    If you're rooted already the question is: Why not Safestrap? You do have to be more careful when updating the stock rom with Safestrap installed, but since 4.1 probably was the last official update for the D4 anyway, IMO that is more than balanced by the possibility to load custom roms and/or to make nandroid backups whenever you want. "There's safety in numbers" - also true for backups :)

    On ICS I acquired root only because I didn't want to risk not being able to get the JB update (no sbf files for a long time..). But I have learned since that this community will find a way around almost any obstacle - or a more than adequate replacement for official roms. So for me it's the season for flashing now ;)

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF700T using Tapatalk HD
     
    #350 droidbound, Mar 30, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  3. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    No it's not.
     
  4. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone else have an issue with the physical keyboard doesn't give you a colon or semicolon, instead it gives you a > and a <? My girlfriends D4 doesn't, and I can't figure out why mine is messed up. There's nothing in the settings as far as I can tell.


    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. silverfang77

    silverfang77 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +76
    What I've read is that if you uninstall the updates to Chrome, that solves the keyboard problem.

    Tappin' and talkin' with Tapatalk!
     
  6. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried that, and even restarted my phone, and yet I still get the >< instead.. I'm so confused lol

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. silverfang77

    silverfang77 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +76
    Did you do a factory data reset after the upgrade?

    Tappin' and talkin' with Tapatalk!
     
  8. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had to sbf back to ics stock to flash the ota.. I believe I did factory reset when it went through.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. Mr_Wolf

    Mr_Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, try this:
    in Settings -> Language & input, go down to Physical Keyboard, select omap4-keypad and uncheck all the languages. Now, it should be set to Default and it should work well. :happy3:

    By the way: anyone knows what the hell IS omap4-keypad?
     
  10. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Omap4 refers to the TI chip that the D4 uses.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. AceDROID

    AceDROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    That did it! Thank you, as that was driving me crazy! I had English (US) checked. Go figure, haha!

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. Mr_Wolf

    Mr_Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your answer!
    Ok, maybe I'm a bit asleep because I slept one hour less because of Daylight Saving Time :angry: (and I'm a bit disappointed because the surprise I found in my chocolate Easter egg sucked :frown:), but why there are two layout options about hardware keyboard? Mapphone-switch and omap4-keypad. If I want to switch between layouts, the first one should be enough.
     
    #360 Mr_Wolf, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
Search tags for this page

98.72.18.en.us update on rooted droid4

,

bionic jelly bean sbf

,
bionic jelly bean update failed (/system/bin/logwrapper,f39f
,

droid 4 jelly bean thread

,
droid 4 shift key
,
jelly bean for droid 2 global
,
motorola jb sbf file
,
unfortunately motorola services has stopped
,
xt894 roll back to 2.3.6
,
xt894 root 4.1.2