1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[ROM] The Arctic ICS!!!! Open Testing [7/8/2012]

Discussion in 'Droid 4 ROMS' started by mattlgroff, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    [​IMG]



    There is no guarantee on getting this Rom to boot up... I modified the stock 206 rom from hashcode to add in the customized Arctic speed, debloat, de-odexed, and feel of the Arctic ICS Rom for the DROID RAZR I have been working on with papi92, spc_hicks, and EmericanX.
    [​IMG]



    Download ArcticRomD4_206rv1.zip (this build includes Gapps): http://crackflasher.com/dev/mattlgroff/ArcticRomD4_206rv1.zip


    Instructions: Must be on ICS Leak 206 or above for the Droid 4. (See here:[Universal Ics Leak List]Droid 4 Unofficial Current Ics Leaks [Updated 7/7/12] - DroidRzr.com) Switch to Safe-side on Safestrap. Flash 1wipe2ruleThemAll.zip from here or manually wipe data, wipe cache, wipe dalvik cache, format/system, then Flash ArcticRomD4_206.zip.

    Note: I am not even sure this will boot up, it'd be nice if it does. I do not have a D4 to test it on

    Please post what works and what doesn't... I will try my best to fix the issues, but no promises ;)

    Update 7/8/2012 - Hopefully might have fixed the random reboots. ​
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  2. Anyonenormal
    Offline

    Anyonenormal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If someone were to try and boot this.. and it doesnt load.. would they brick their phone?
  3. add119
    Offline

    add119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps they would. Wait for someone with experience does experiments. To many newbie get their phone, messed up blame on the devs.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  4. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Not running Safestrap no. This is for safestrap. If it does not boot you simply switch back to the non-safe side.
  5. kwyrt
    Offline

    kwyrt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Thanks for the port mattlgroff. Installed and booted just fine. Unfortunately it keeps spontaneously rebooting a few minutes. Not sure what that is about. Didn't really a chance to test anything else out. Looks pretty slick though. Hopefully the bugs can get worked out. Thanks again for your efforts!
  6. Krooked247
    Offline

    Krooked247 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This installed and booted up just fine for me also. Tested camera (pictures and video both worked).
    Didn't get any force closes or freezes on anything. Was able to use the market and install apps. Wasn't able to test much else either though do to the random rebooting thing. Pretty sure though if the random reboots can be fixed that there wouldn't be much else to fix.
    Seemed very smooth and responsive. Love the fact that the hdmi output is incorporated into this as that I think is cm9 and aokps only downfall. Overall I think this is looking pretty strong for a daily driver. Didn't connect to 4g but I don't know if it just didn't have enough time to make the connection( the reboots ) or if there is actually an issue or not . And by the way I LOVE the zip to wipe everything, completely genuis and prolly saves about 5 min of work in safestrap.

    Thanks again for the work put into this.

    Krooked All Day
  7. mattlgroff
    Offline

    mattlgroff Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thanks for the reports on the random reboots guys. I attribute these to the battery goes down 1% I believe... I attempted to just use some the Razr files for 1% batter mod instead of having to make a new one. Seems like that was a mistake ;)
    I will try to get some work into a 1% again if I can get a hold of my partner EmericanX who made the one for Razr ICS Arctic.

    I am in the process of uploading a new version now with the SystemUI.apk and services.jar returned to de-odexed ICS 6.16.206 (D4) base.

    Also I'd like to mention I will be getting a Droid 4 very soon, which means I'll be able to have a test device.

    EDIT: Uploaded and put into the OP. It also is here:
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  8. ws6formula350
    Online

    ws6formula350 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey,

    Just tried rv1; got hot reboots. Didn't make it through setup wizard before it happened.

    Thanks, look forward to more!

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  9. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been running the CM9 nightlies every day with little problems, but I want to try this.

    If I use Safestrap to back up my current CM9 set up and flash this ROM instead and for whatever reason want to switch back, will I be able to do so smoothly by restoring in Safestrap?

    I want to make sure I can revert as if I never made the switch.
  10. meek2100
    Offline

    meek2100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Logan, Utah
    My phone got stuck rebooting over and over after flashing this rom. I eventually just force the device off and flash CM9 back on my safe side.
  11. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same thing. Well, it didn't reboot over and over. It just froze at the boot screen. And I tried wiping everything before I flashed it.
  12. Anyonenormal
    Offline

    Anyonenormal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any word on this? Interested to try once the reboot issue is resolved.
  13. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    razr roms that are ported with 1% mod causes reboots. thats why i haven done one in a while.
  14. Anyonenormal
    Offline

    Anyonenormal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah..
    I know stupid question, and since I dont develop my own ROMS it'll sound like I dont know what I'm talking about, but is there a way to disable the 1% mod? Can you compare this rom to another D4 ICS rom side by side to see what is different and what needs to be changed?
  15. ws6formula350
    Online

    ws6formula350 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Any way to strip that out? Was really hoping for an Eclipse ICS port, I was running your GB port of it right up until I flashed the leak.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  16. Giroux28
    Offline

    Giroux28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this makes absolutely no sense, cm9 for ics has 1% battery increments and does not do this...
  17. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would think the rebooting issue may be due to permissions. Has anyone tried to run a fix permissions script yet. That would be the first place to look in my estimation. I will try it tonight after work and report back unless someone beats me to it.

    Sent from my DROID4
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2012
  18. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    We deleted some posts & edited some. If you're not here to contribute & play nicely then move on.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
  19. Giroux28
    Offline

    Giroux28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds perfect, i always contribute.
  20. Anyonenormal
    Offline

    Anyonenormal New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Were you able to fix the reboot issue? Anything else that other people can try? I'm extremely interested in this rom.
Search tags for this page

arctic ics rom

,

droid razr arctic ics rom

,
ics 4.0.4 artic rom