Thanking about rooting my droid

justicw

Reaction score
I've thought about this for a while but I am a TOTAL NOOB when it comes to this stuff. I love the way my droid is setup right now but it's just not quick enough for me. I would like to OC my droid to 800Mhz to smooth things out a bit. I don't want to change the way my phone is setup now so my question is if I root will I need to re-setup everything or will everything be the same it is now?

If I do root should I use a custom rom ( I have seen several all over the place) or should I just root and then OC as that is the only thing I am realy interested in anyway.

What are your thoughts on this (and please remember I'm totaly new to all of this).

joeymoose

Reaction score
If your thinking about it then chances are you will end up doing it. There are many step by step threads for noob's on how to Root. Pete's Bugless Beauty is a great ROM. OC is awesome, Wifi tether is sweet, do I really need to say more?

OP
justicw

justicw

Reaction score
Is Bugless Beauty the top rom out there right now? Is it updated often with bug fixes and such (does the dev's support it still)? Do I need to backup or can I install over top of my current setup?

thebowers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
don't need to load a custom rom to oc. just need to install busybox and sprecovery. then you can flash a taz kernel and done.

Last edited:

tu3218

Reaction score
Research Sholes updater. Its on the marketplace and its really straightforward on rooting your droid. I actually wonder what the difference is between sholes rom's and the BB rom? Anyone care to explain?

Reaction score