texting problem?

Discussion in 'Team Chaos' started by mrgarrison, May 9, 2010.

  1. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    For maybe the last week or so on RRCv1.3, I have had random instances of where people will text me but I won't recieve it until the phone reboots. Sometimes now when I reboot I'll have like 5 texts come in at once and I dont know when they actually sent it. Like I said its only random times(maybe 1/4 - 1/5 of my messages lol) and I haven't noticed it with any other rom. I'm a heavy supporter of team chaos though and dont want to switch roms. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this problem of is there is a fix. Thank you!
     
  2. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't had this issue a at all. I've been getting all my texts/pic/vids within seconds of when they were sent to me.
    Was/is actually one of my tests I put the ROM through when I upgrade.
    I call someone on a landline and ask them to send me stuff. ATT, Verizon and Sprint all come through fine for me.

    Is it possible you're in a deadzone when you're supposed to be getting these texts?
     
  3. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm yeah its weird. i dont think its a deadzone issue. there have been days where ive had great signal all day then ill reboot later in the day and get a few texts at once right when it boots up. i dont even think ive seen anyone else talking about this problem lol. :wacko:
     
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just for kicks, dial *228, option 2.
     
  5. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i updated my roaming capabilities :) lol. not sure if it helped but i can hope. thanks for the responses btw.
     
  6. bgill55

    bgill55 Silver Member Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    are you using a 3rd party app?
     
  7. Stolas

    Stolas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could have been verizon itself, the wife, bro_in law and I experienced major delays in texting the other day. I run RR, wife is stock Droid, and bro in law is blackberry. All verizon. 20 to 30 mins before receive if at all, and reboot would get all messages if none showed up. Seems to have cleared up though..

    Sent from my Team Chaos Droid.
     
  8. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    a 3rd party app for what? lol sorry. if you mean texting i use handcent.

    @stolas

    well thats nice to hear it got cleared up, hopefully it does the same for me. no way to really test it right away though since i get some but not others lol
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    handcent would be a third party texting app. Does the same problem happen with the stock app?
     
  10. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah although i have notifications turned off for it, if i open it i have all the same messages ive gotten with handcent.
     
  11. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    But have you turned notifications on and seen if it actually receives them quicker than handcent?
     
  12. mrgarrison

    mrgarrison Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    i havent but i will today and let you know. thank you.
     
  13. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I do remember having issues with Handcent as well. Not just on RR, but on any 2.1 ROM, even the stock 2.1. I could never get the LEDs working, whether screen was on OR off. Seems to be a problem with Handcent and 2.1. (Actually, pissed at Google for removing this feature as I don't think personally it was a big enough battery saving option to bother eliminating, IMO)
    I would receive the messages on time, but whenever I sent them, they would take forever to be sent...and even longer to be confirmed they were sent.
    Sucks cuz I really liked the complete custimization of the app. But ended up switching to CHOMP because the stock messaging app just doesn't do it for me.
    CHOMP and the stock messaging app work fine for me, however....sending/receiving..notifications etc.
     
  14. Stolas

    Stolas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    I turned on auto retrieve under the handcent settings and haven't had an issue that I have noticed. I did notice that handcent seems to be slower on any 2.1 than it was on 2.0.

    Sent from my Team Chaos Droid.