1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Text messages over 160 characters to non-vzw customers wont send??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by CStradling24, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. CStradling24
    Offline

    CStradling24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had the Imagio and the Touch Pro before this phone. I was able to send messages over 160 characters to non-vzw customers with those phones. It would simply split the message up into 160 characters parts.

    With the Droid when I try this, I get a text saying that only the first 160 characters of messages sent to non-vzw customers will be sent. I never got this text on my old phones. It does just as it says too, the person I am sending it to will only get the first 160, the rest is just deleted... What gives? Is this something vzw could have changed on the account on accident or did the Windows Mobile phones just split the messages for me?
  2. phone
    Offline

    phone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcent SMS will auto split the messages for you. It's free from Market.
  3. LrdElderon
    Offline

    LrdElderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also. Agree with handcent. Just go into options to pick autosplit
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As the others have said...

    +1 for Handcent
  5. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm preaching to the choir here but Handcent all the way! Even let's you have bubbles like the iPhone!
  6. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another choir member. Handcent gets the nod.
  7. biglipps66
    Offline

    biglipps66 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dot.
    The last few updates to it have been nice as well. Getting more rock solid with every update, I love this phone
  8. altjx
    Offline

    altjx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, looks like I need to get handcent. I don't know why they just didn't make it auto-split the message anyway. That's crazy.
  9. teknotronik
    Offline

    teknotronik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Cumberland, Pa
    ChompSMS <3
  10. knicho19
    Offline

    knicho19 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    is there an app that lets you use the standard messaging on your phone but will split the texts for you? i dont want to have a different theme or program for my sms, i like the normal touch keyboard and interface
  11. ghostengineer
    Offline

    ghostengineer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just downloaded this app and like the looks of the sms feature better then the android version. I have a question. I have the Moto droid, and uploaded this. Is there a way to make handcent my default sms option? If I get a text message it shows up for both the stock Android message center, and also Handcent. Am I missing something ? I cant figure it out.
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. ghostengineer
    Offline

    ghostengineer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow just that simplie. LOL. Thanks Martin.
  14. bossrogue
    Offline

    bossrogue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Handcent FTW!:icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
cannot send texts longer than one page chompsms
,

cincinnit bell wireless will only let me text a few caracter

,
droid characters too long for him
,
how do i get the droid character in my text messages
,
how to get my phone to split texts meessages that are too lo
,
iphone 5 wont send text over 160 characters
,
my phone wont let me send over 160 characters
,
my phone wont text more then 150 characters
,
only get part of text messages thunderbolt htc verizon andro
,
text more than 160 characters verizon
,

verizon texts over 160 characters

,

what happens when you send a text over 160 characters

,

what wont my phone let me send a message more than 150 lette

,
why wont my iphone let me send long text messages?
,
why wont my phone let me send long text messages