1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Text Message Problem...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by callmealejandro, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. callmealejandro
    Offline

    callmealejandro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, so I just got my Droid 2 today...

    whenever I receive a new text message, all the phone does is vibrate. so when i feel the vibration i turn the screen on and unlock the phone, but it doesn't tell me i have a new text message. (my old phone used to give the option to open the text.)

    is there anyway that the screen can come on and notify me i have a new text (such as a screen saying "new text from alex" and from there i click view text )?
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Welcome! I do not remember if the stock text app does but Handcent will notify you with a sound, in the notification bar, and pop up a Window when the phone is sleeping.

    Check the stock app first --- open the app, tap menu, tap settings, look for notifications.

    Handcent is a free app in the market. The above will work for the settings.

    Hope this helps.

    Mike
  3. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unless they changed something with the Blur interface with the D2, by default the screen is going to stay off. You will hear/feel your notification and the LED light should flash (all of this is depending on your settings for notification), but no screen on or popup.

    Handcent, ChompSMS, SMSPopup, and probably some others can do this sort of things. All should be free in the market.

    E2A: Too slow, got beated haha.
  4. callmealejandro
    Offline

    callmealejandro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks you guys! Got it working with handcent.
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Glad it worked for you.
  6. callmealejandro
    Offline

    callmealejandro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh.. and another quick question.. is there any spell check on this phone using the qwerty keyboard? For instance it would be really nice if you could spell check an email you were going to send
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If it's anything like the Droid, it's on a per-word-as-you-type basis.
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    I use K9 and the corporate email app for Exchange. When I am typing both provide me with matches to words and if I tap it adds the word. Don't forget you can use voice to add text in your text and email apps. There is a limit on the number of words it will add at time but it is very accurate.

    Mike
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Quick edit to my reply -- I have to enable it in the settings (not sure what it'd be under the X so I'm not going to guess), and I remember it working once after I did so.
  10. Jett Deion
    Offline

    Jett Deion Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I would do is go to the Motorola website (or google it) and see if you can find a user manual for your perticular phone. I have an i860, and though I have the same problem in RECIEVING messages (or rather, how I don't recieve them) but I don't have issues with the info not showing up. Some nextel phones are pretty crappy and may not have the capability, though it would be really stupid..... see if the manual can help you out.
Search tags for this page
motorola blur texting
,

motorola blur texting problems

,
why doesn't my adroid notiffy me of texts
,
why doesn't my droid dna tell me when i have a text