Tethering?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dlambert, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. Getaphixx

    Getaphixx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would guess YES, there will be tethering..

    Weither that is from hacking/jailbreaking the droid

    or

    From an application written for it

    or BOTH.. I'm clueless about.. But I'm positive it will happen as people don't like spendinig Extra money for something they know they can get for free...

    ;)
     
  2. RVnut

    RVnut New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No tethering will kill this phone for me! I can not believe they missed the boat again!!!
     
  3. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
    They didn't miss it persay, it will have it, it has the capability, it's just that the app that verizon uses to track the usage of it, has not been worked out 100%, i would expect to see it within the first month.
     
  4. danDroid

    danDroid Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +217
    Does anyone know if this will work with Android 2.0?

    [​IMG]
     
  5. techiebyfl

    techiebyfl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    tethering

    This phone is WIFI-- :icon_ banana:
     
  6. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
    Yeah, but for areas where WIFI is not possible, tethering becomes your best friend.
     
  7. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0


    So in these "Training Manuals" did it say how Verizon is going to prevent people rooting their android device and opening up wifi?

    I think Verizon should get out of the Android business if they dont think this is going to be happening from Day 1.

    Feeding information to droid'etts' like you saying anything else is foolish.



    Cheers,
    Dean
     
  8. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    dean, wifi has not been disabled by verizon. the device is not compatible with mobile broadband connect yet, likely because verizon isn't sure about the security of the android OS.
     
  9. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ha ha - who said anything about wifi being diabled.

    this is going to happen to Droid regardless of whether Verizon want it to or not.

    (lol can we add a new function to this forum where you can rate up or down super moderators...some of you are just posting incorrect information.

    ....let me guess Sam - this is your first Android device right??
     
  10. Sam

    Sam Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    you just said "opening up wifi". am i incorrect for assuming you thought it was disabled? no.. just clearing up something that was poorly answered.
     
  11. 19thumper76

    19thumper76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a omnia and your supposed to pay the extra $15 a mo for tethering but someone made a cool app to get around it. useing it right now and have been for about 8 mo as a wifi hotspot no less:icon_ goofy:
     
    #47 19thumper76, Nov 3, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  12. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +76
    I take it you haven't been charged once for anything?
     
Similar Threads
  1. DessoThumbs
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    9,085
  2. Misha
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,690
  3. tha rockstar
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,645
  4. xDMONEYx
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    2,613
Loading...
Search tags for this page

connect android to vzaccess

,
how do i thether using my droid 865a with a laptop
,
how to detect motorola droid razr m with vz access manager
,
motorola droid vzaccess manager
,
tethering forum
,
tether verizon droid phone
,
will vzaccess manager work for droid razr m