Tethering?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dlambert, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    you just said "opening up wifi". am i incorrect for assuming you thought it was disabled? no.. just clearing up something that was poorly answered.
     
  2. 19thumper76

    19thumper76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a omnia and your supposed to pay the extra $15 a mo for tethering but someone made a cool app to get around it. useing it right now and have been for about 8 mo as a wifi hotspot no less:icon_ goofy:
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2009
  3. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +21
    I take it you haven't been charged once for anything?
     
  4. Getaphixx

    Getaphixx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you don't want/care to ROOT your device... Then you're GOING to pay the 15$...

    If you have some technical skills.. and don't mind tinkering with ****.. Welcome to FREE...
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2009
  5. khojem

    khojem New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. pilot25

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    PPCGeeks.com or PDAnet.com

    Don't pay for extra services like Broadband connect that doesn't cost Verizon dime to implement it.

    It's like paying to check your bag on an airline when you can carry on for free.
     
  7. dean.collins

    dean.collins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeh and how are exactly are they goign to stop you from doing it without paying the fee?
     
  8. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    i would like to know as well (i don't mind tinkering)
     
  9. 19thumper76

    19thumper76 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    nope not once. i do try to keep track of my usage so i dont go over. i even have a wifi router that uses usb cellular modems and my x360 loves it (cant do mp but i use it to dl all the time)
     
  10. RVnut

    RVnut New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I am seeing is work around or ways to beat Vrz out of $15. The fact is this phone should have this feature at release. Makes you ask how many other features are missing or half done? Will wait to see what happens after Friday, but this may force me to go Storm2 or stay with current phone!
     
  11. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +21
    As already stated the tethering is coming out for it, it has nothing to do with them not wanting to put it in, it was the mere fact that they didn't get the app working correctly yet. Should be done in a month or so. Not saying you should wait that long for a feature if it's something you need right away.
     
  12. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0

    This may be the worst idea i've seen in a while. A friend has already had three S2 replced at the store for "hardware failure". VZW will implement teathering i'm sure. At worst maybe holding out to see the Eris or Passion makes more sense to me ;)
     
  13. purple onyx

    purple onyx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what would happen to the data plan that we currently have for our BBs? Right now, my plan includes tethering for my Storm. Would they just remove that part of the plan when I change to a Droid?
     
  14. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +21
    When you sign up for service for the droid there just won't be an option for that right now. Where as on the storm you could choose that option if you wanted to. Once they get the program up and working then you should be able to add that option back on.
     
  15. goathog02

    goathog02 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a side note to this statement: Talk to any BB Storm user who upgraded to OS 5.0. VZAccess doesn't work for them either. (unless you install a version that is almost 2 years old)(I am one of them)
     
Similar Threads
  1. DessoThumbs
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    8,552
  2. Misha
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,386
  3. tha rockstar
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,481
  4. xDMONEYx
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    2,186
Loading...
Search tags for this page

connect android to vzaccess

,
how do i thether using my droid 865a with a laptop
,
how to detect motorola droid razr m with vz access manager
,
motorola droid vzaccess manager
,
tether verizon droid phone
,
tethering forum
,
will vzaccess manager work for droid razr m