Tethering

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by altjx, May 2, 2010.

  1. altjx
    Offline

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I used to use Pete's Bugless Beast ROM but lately he's been going through a few things, but does a good job. I've had my Droid replaced and now I'd just prefer to tether without downloading a new rom and such. I'm running Android OS 2.1 of course. What's the easiest way for me to root and get tether via USB?
     
  2. bigrigdriver
    Offline

    bigrigdriver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easytether, at the Market.
     
  3. altjx
    Offline

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Doesn't that require installing software on the computer itself? Is there any that will work without installing software on the PC? I go on a few service calls and sometimes would like to just simply use tethering for a quick second.
     
  4. grinchy
    Offline

    grinchy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lakeland,FL
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. bigrigdriver
    Offline

    bigrigdriver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are rooted then Barnacle is the one you want.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2010
  6. altjx
    Offline

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    what's so different about Barnacle that "Wireless Tether" app doesn't have?
     
  7. bigrigdriver
    Offline

    bigrigdriver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont know, Barnacle is what I use at home & on the road.:)
     
  8. rooster.droid
    Offline

    rooster.droid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Barnacle doesn't make you change your kernel.
     
Similar Threads
  1. DessoThumbs
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    8,438
  2. Misha
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,337
  3. tha rockstar
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,437
  4. xDMONEYx
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    2,111
  5. ggeinec
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...