Tethering

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by Jcat24, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. Jcat24

    Jcat24 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys im new here,

    but i have an important question. I got the update today for froyo from verizon on my droid incredible not by rooting it. woo hoo!!! Soooo i was wondering could i tether it after getting the 2.2 update from verizon?? I wat the hotspot but i dnt wanna pay the fee.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Moved to the Incredible general discussion section.

    Mike
     
  3. jkhonea

    jkhonea Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    You're not gonna be able to do that without rooting. And that hasn't been accomplished on 2.2 yet. Sorry.
     
  4. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St. Simons Island, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    dangit jkhonea! You keep answering the questions before I can! :icon_ cry::smile:
     
  5. jkhonea

    jkhonea Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hey, you get to live at the beach at one of my second choices of where to live behind Charleston while I'm stuck in Atlanta, I need at least one fun thing. :D
     
  6. srdrgz11

    srdrgz11 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No need to root. Easily get free wireless hotspot with 2.2 by editing the dun nai. I have ota 2.2 on my dinc and was able to get free wifi hotspot. Google dun nai. This method take all of 2 min, is much easier than rooting and can be reveresed just as easily.
     
  7. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St. Simons Island, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL well come on down!!! well have a parteee! dancedroid:icon_ banana:
     
  8. The_Profeshenal

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I heard a rumor from a techie friend of mine who has the Motorola Droid with the 2.2 and even though the rumor is flimsy at best I wanted to know if it carried any weight.

    He told me that even though I have PDANet that I after 2.2 I would have to pay Verizons tethering rates even though I purchased PDANet.

    Any truth to that?
     
  9. tw15egan

    tw15egan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain more about the dun nai to get free wifi??
     
  10. albrst

    albrst New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I asked a Verizon Rep about that and he said that you can do the 'free' things at your own risk but Verizon has been known to send HUGE bills to those trying to get away with free wifi or free tethering but he suggested I try it anyway, LOL.
     
  11. DROID MONSTER

    DROID MONSTER Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get free tethering to work on my rooted incredible 2 help please

    Sent from my Incredible 2 using DroidForums
     
  12. sacnotsack

    sacnotsack Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    yuma, az
    Ratings:
    +0
    How r u trying to tether? Mine is completely stock and I just use pdanet and tether via usb

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
adr 6350 tether
,
adr6350 tethering
,

htc adr6350 wifi tether fix

,
tether droid incredible 2
,
tether with htc adr6350
,
wifi tether adr 6350
,
wireless tether 6350