Tethering with pdanet good enough for ps3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Whitemike358, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Whitemike358

    Whitemike358 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering if I was to root my phone and use a service such as pdanet, would the service be fast enough to run my ps3 with say call of duty black ops and if it was, is there a way to set that up?
     
  2. jloya

    jloya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im roooted running apex 1.3.1 with the data throttling hack

    I played/play black ops on my 360 through wireless tether app on my phone and it works great. If someone calls your connection will drop, if you get a text it will be temp. interrupted.
     
  3. mr_silent

    mr_silent Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still haven't found or heard of any way to tether to PS3 with any app. Its the PS3 system that prevents this, because it doesn't connect to ad-hoc networks. Recently found a PS3 that hadn't had a software update for two years. Got yellow dog linux 6.1 on it(laggy as all hell) but through the linux system I can tether my 3g, but not on the game os.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. jloya

    jloya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a ps3 and will check on this when I get home today and report back
     
  5. Nickchapa

    Nickchapa Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I use wireless tether and it works fine. But ya the phone calls and txrs eff it up. But other than that it works golden.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. slipvayne9278

    slipvayne9278 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use wireless tether with my ps3 and it works fine except it shuts out randomly without getting a call or text

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. zach_power

    zach_power New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Without needing to root you could purchase easytether. I think its $5 or so and the purchase version specifically says it will work with 360 and ps3

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. arrigob

    arrigob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, you can do it without rooting your phone too. Use pdanet or easytether. Just tether to your computer, go to the connection properties in windows and click on the share tab and share the connection. Then run an ethernet cable from your computer to your ps3.

    Now go into your ps3 connection settings and search for your new wired connection and connect to it. Then your ready.

    If you need more info, google tethering to ps3. Hope that helps you.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. fishstick600

    fishstick600 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Loveland
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need pda.net either. Just look up my thread on wifi tethering. There is a way to use your hotspot app. Its simple and free

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. Methodic Menace

    Methodic Menace New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I've tried that on my xbox and I get MTU is not high enough. How did you change the MTU Settings within PDANET or on the xbox or on the PC? Im running Prof XP
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    You need root with the hotspot app....pad.net you do not.
     
  12. fishstick600

    fishstick600 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Loveland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the hotspot on my droid x free of charge. No u do not need root. I know a work around that is extremely simple



    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy tablet using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
can i use pdanet on my ps3
,
can you use pdanet on ps3
,
how to connect pdanet to ps3
,
how to use pdanet on ps3
,

pdanet for ps3

,
pdanet playstation 3
,

pdanet ps3

,
pdanet ps3 tether
,
pdanet with ps3
,
tethering phone to ps3