tethering with gb?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible 2' started by night_train44, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. night_train44

    night_train44 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just upgraded to 2.3.3 and now it gives me a quick setting to turn tethering on so I turned it on but it never asked me to pay for it or said I'd be charged. I didn't actually use it. Is it free now?
     
  2. goffredo

    goffredo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :laugh:

    Try accessing a website on your browser. It should redirect you to a "nice try, but you're going to pay Verizon through the teeth for this capability."

    What I want to know is, what happens if I've got the phone in GSM mode in Europe, I'm using a third party SIM card, and I want to tether. Does it magically work? Doubt it. I asked the question here but nobody knows.
     
  3. night_train44

    night_train44 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I root it is it free?
     
  4. Markster1

    Markster1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you root it won't cost you anything but Verizon won't like that.

    Sent from my Galaxy Tab
     
  5. Sebastian

    Sebastian Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Laguna CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    This was fantastic for free hotspot without tethering. I use this once a week and never get flagged.

    Free Hotspot Hack


    **** And you don't have to have a rooted phone.
     
  6. kinz

    kinz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would assume Verizon knows about it, however you probally did not use that much data is my guess