Tethering to a router

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by plowjockey, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. plowjockey

    plowjockey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to tether a droid to a router either hard wire or wireless, to operate a PC and possilbly 2 laptops? If not would it work to tether to the PC than run a router off of that for the laptops? I'm looking to get rid of our land line and dial up. Wanting the most economical approach.
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Using a Droid is not the way to do this.
     
  3. plowjockey

    plowjockey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you suggest, the palm?
     
  4. Ghostwheel

    Ghostwheel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Ratings:
    +7
    There's no way you're going to get enough bandwidth for three machines from a single 3G connection, unless you're only running the most basic of functions - i.e. email. For any significant web browsing, you'll be sorely disappointed. It's not a Droid vs. Palm issue, it's just a limitation of 3G wireless.
     
  5. legalkill

    legalkill Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kennesaw
    Ratings:
    +19
    You would technically try it by establishing the tethered connection then using ICS on the computer to share that droid connection to the network and then wire the computer to the routers wan/in port. The router would then works as normal. Or just use a wifi tether option directly on the phone.


    But yes it would seem by today's standard painfully slow. Does anyone not remember dial up these days? I was working on a friends dial up problem and my kids had no idea what that handshake sound was for.
     
  6. Ghostwheel

    Ghostwheel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Ratings:
    +7
    I couldn't imagine trying to load up any modern website on my original Hayes 1200 baud. Droidforums itself would probably take, what, 45 minutes alone? :)
     
  7. plowjockey

    plowjockey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    90% of the time it will only be 1 computer and only about 1% of 3. So compared to dial up with would be a better option Droid or Palm?
     
  8. googlelover

    googlelover Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Never used a palm so can't speak for that, but my droid seems to be very flaky with tethering, like it will work for either 30 minutes or up to 80 mb's and then cut out. Just my experience.
     
  9. WsW-WYATT-EARP

    WsW-WYATT-EARP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SouthEastern Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not set up your droid as a wireless hotspot and put wireless cards in whatever laptop or desktops that doesn't have one already?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

    My DROID beat-up your iphone
     
  10. slimmdaddy

    slimmdaddy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to do this too. I have dropped my time warner cable and internet and switched to OTA cable and it's amazingly good. HD channels via a cheap antenna which are better than time warners HD channels.

    I have a couple of netgear "3g broadband wireless routers" with USB ports for an air card. They work with an Air Card, but I want them to work with my droid incredible hooked directly to the USB port on the 3g router.

    I don't care about speed. 3g is plenty fast for me. I've heard that there are cradlepoint routers that can handle this, but I'm wondering if there is a special firmware I can throw on my netgear MBR624GU wireless broadband router, to allow it to use the internet connection of a droid incredible?

    That would be awesome.
     
  11. rjsurfer

    rjsurfer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    The router you use MUST have the firmware to handle and control the phone properly. The router must be able to communicate with the phone and set up the connection.

    Very few routers do this.

    You are right Cradlepoint is one of the few but they have a limited selection of phones that they can control. Speak to the tech support people at 3Gstore.com.

    They are very knowledgeable about this topic, just be aware Cradlepoint routers are a little more money then the typical ones you get a Best Buy:)

    Ron W.
     
Search tags for this page
android usb tether to router
,
can i tether through my samsung galaxie to netgear router
,
tether a phone to a router
,
tether android to a router
,
tether android to wireless router
,
tether iphone to netgear router
,
tether phone to netgear router
,

tether phone to router

,
tethering router
,

tethering to a router