Tethering problem on Froyo (works for only a few mins at a time then stops)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by CompleteGFX, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. CompleteGFX
    Offline

    CompleteGFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone I am having a tethering problem. I will start the tethering program and it will run for a good few minutes then it will stop. Then I have to restart the tethering program to get it to work again. This happens on both wifi and usb tethering.

    Using:
    Droid 1 rooted
    Bugless Beast foryo 2.2 (from http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bu...t-v0-4-android-2-2-frf84b-fully-deodexed.html)
    Wired Tether (from Downloads - android-wired-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code)
    Wireless Tether for Root Users (from market)


    I just came from using Ultimate Droid 10 with PERFECT usb tethering!!! Reconnecting every few mins for tethering is annoying!!! Please I beg you please help me out!

    If its a rom problem I will switch to the best one for tethering!

    Thanks guys!

    P.S. It even disconnected while i was typing this thread!! :(
     
  2. CompleteGFX
    Offline

    CompleteGFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    BUMP!!! plz help!
     
  3. JonTX311
    Offline

    JonTX311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure how to fix your problem, but i thought I would share I have the same problem when tethering using PDAnet.
     
  4. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    My cable is out and I'm using my wifi tether(sooo useful!!), but anyway I'm using BB.4 so I doubt its rom related. Does wifi tether show up in permissions? Also wiping data/cache would probably fix it.
     
  5. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,282
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,598
  6. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,282
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,598
    My tethering stopped as well and I am wondering if there is some funny business going on.
     
  7. biz79
    Offline

    biz79 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this same exact problem and good news is I may have found a solution... testing it right now as I type this. Do me a favor and connect to your wireless tether app. Next, open Command Prompt (Windows) or Terminal (OSX) and type 'ping google.com'. Wait 5 minutes, then look/post your results afterwards. I did this last night (but forgot to copy mine) and had results similar to this guy's.

    Issue 336 - android-wifi-tether - After a while, the connection starts to deteriorate - Project Hosting on Google Code

    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=22 ttl=46 time=614.260 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=23 ttl=46 time=240.559 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=24 ttl=46 time=291.249 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=25 ttl=46 time=468.149 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=26 ttl=46 time=531.268 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=27 ttl=46 time=380.776 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=28 ttl=46 time=374.653 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=29 ttl=46 time=242.971 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=30 ttl=46 time=278.571 ms
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 31
    92 bytes from 192.168.2.254: Destination Net Unreachable
    Vr HL TOS Len ID Flg off TTL Pro cks Src Dst
    4 5 00 5400 f883 0 0000 40 01 6134 192.168.2.100 74.125.19.104

    Request timeout for icmp_seq 32
    92 bytes from 192.168.2.254: Destination Net Unreachable
    Vr HL TOS Len ID Flg off TTL Pro cks Src Dst
    4 5 00 5400 91e2 0 0000 40 01 c7d5 192.168.2.100 74.125.19.104

    Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
    Request timeout for icmp_seq 34
    92 bytes from 192.168.2.254: Destination Net Unreachable
    Vr HL TOS Len ID Flg off TTL Pro cks Src Dst
    4 5 00 5400 2591 0 0000 40 01 3427 192.168.2.100 74.125.19.104

    Request timeout for icmp_seq 35
    92 bytes from 192.168.2.254: Destination Net Unreachable
    Vr HL TOS Len ID Flg off TTL Pro cks Src Dst
    4 5 00 5400 3b93 0 0000 40 01 1e25 192.168.2.100 74.125.19.104
    ...

    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=41 ttl=45 time=279.056 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=42 ttl=45 time=320.445 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=43 ttl=45 time=298.071 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=44 ttl=45 time=406.683 ms
    64 bytes from 74.125.19.104: icmp_seq=45 ttl=45 time=333.964 ms
    Pinging the Droid had 0 percent packet loss.

    ------------------------

    Solution (maybe):

    Since I knew that wifi tethering worked perfectly before, I figured the problem must be a rom issue, baseband issue, or Verizon. Since everyone isn't having problems, it's probably not the rom. I was going to downgrade to a previous baseband but decided to update my 3G towers first. So to do that, you must do at least the first step listed below.

    dial *228 and press 2
    Optionally - dial *22899 and wait for it to finish
    Optionally - dial ##program, password 000000, change vocode to evrc-b.

    I did all three steps above. Afterwards I pinged google again and didn't have a single packet loss. I did this for 30minutes (~2300 packets) and stable connection w/o any packet drop. I also downloaded a 100MB mp3 at the same time to make sure.

    I hope this fixes your problem, as it seems to have fixed mine. If it doesn't fix it for me, then I'll try downgrading my baseband and see. Anyways, I'll know for certain when I go to my GF's place on the weekend since she just cancelled Comcast (f-ing rip-off).

    Here's my original post of my problem too if u want to compare symptoms: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bu...2-2-frf84b-fully-deodexed-189.html#post650652

    Edit: Just noticed there's an update for Wifi tether released today (Wireless Tether for Root Users 2.0.5-pre3 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** ). Not sure what the changes are though but that might also work.
    Biz
     
  8. dwoid
    Offline

    dwoid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If this does fix your problem, it probably indicates that with the new Froyo baseband your original EVRC-B setting was changed back to the default EVRC setting...

    I've read that EVRC is typically the default setting for most Verizon support areas in the USA. The reason is that the older EVRC codecs will work in EVRC-B areas, but the newer EVRC-B codecs will not work in EVRC areas. In other words, you may not be able to make calls out if you travel to an area that does not support EVRC-B.

    Ain't local implementations great :icon_eek: ???

     
  9. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I didn't see an option on the tether app for clearing data/cache

    It's definitely not ROM specific. I went to try this option but when I dial ##PROGRAM the verizon message that it can't complete the call comes up. Weird.
     
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I downloaded the newest wifi (205 pre3) and am on it now. I have been on it for the past 18 minutes while I browsed the board. It does not seem to be getting slower. It's working. I have Sapphire 0.8.4 with P3's 125 - 1.25Ghz kernel.
     
  11. biz79
    Offline

    biz79 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    To clear permissions, open up the superuser permissions app, click wifi tether and hit forget. To clear data/cache for the app, go to settings -> applications -> manage applications -> wireless tether -> Press clear data.

    I did a quick read on EVRC and EVRC-B. Yeah I saw that you might not be able to make calls if u use it, but EVRC-B and 13K codecs could make call quality better? I just followed another post to reupdate my towers, since it was a while since I updated my baseband.

    So no one pinged a website from their broken tethering app? I should of done it after each step, but it was just a guess for me. I'm interested to see if it helped other people. Nice to hear that the newest update fixes the issue too.

     
  12. CompleteGFX
    Offline

    CompleteGFX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the support.

    I will ping google and run your tests as requested.


    But I have to ask... is anyone out there using a hacked 2.2 rom with FLAWLESS wired/wireless tethering? If yes, please list your build, creator, and link(s) to your current build.

    I would definately say that I had absolutely NO problems on 2.1 ultimate droid, but froyo dosent like my laptop :(

    Cheers,
    Andrew from texas
     
  13. biz79
    Offline

    biz79 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SF, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thx dude. Yeah mine was flawless with 2.1 also, so maybe updating the 3g towers will fix your issue too.

     
  14. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I only tried it once (I only use it when I need to) for about 15 minutes. It never failed that I saw and before it would drop by around 5 minutes or so.

    I'm running JRummy's 2.2 build number V5.0.9 right now.
     
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have been on one or another 2.2 custom rom since it became available. I am currently on Sapphire 0.8.4 with P3 125mhz-1.25Ghz kernel. I was, until recently, using the Wifi Tethering for Rooted Users 205 pre1. I am now using 205 pre3. I am having absolutely no tethering issue. I use it infrequently, but it works well. I actually use the wired tethering program now because it is faster. But it too works flawlessly.
     
Search tags for this page

android only works fir a few seconds while tethered

,

android tethering desination net unreachable

,
how to fix packet loss when tethering
,
my android phone internet only works for a few mins
,

nexus 4 tethering timeout

,
pdanet destination net unreachable
,
tethering destination net unreachable
,
tethering stops after 5 minutes
,

tethering stops after 5 minutes solution

,

usb tethering destination host unreachable