Tethering on the Pro

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by ruinah, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. ruinah

    ruinah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I come from an OG where I've done countless roms and kernels, etc. Got the Pro and have had the hardest time getting tethering to work. I rooted using superOneClick yesterday and Root seems to be fine. Installed Wired Tether but can't get it to work. It appears to make the connection but DHCP looks like it's failing. I even tried giving it a static IP and gateway based off the settings but still can't route anywhere. I haven't tried Wireless tethering yet but will soon. Wired has always been better for me as it charges the phone while I'm using it. I only use this sparingly when traveling but would like to get it working. I installed the Motorola Driver pack yesterday so the laptop sees the phone fine, no matter if it's in Mass Storage Mode or PC mode. Just not sure what may be wrong here. Ideas?
     
  2. ^Rb

    ^Rb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're on Gingerbread (2.3), there is currently no way (that I know of) to get the Droid Pro Wi-fi tethering to work (w/o paying Verizon $$$ for their monthly service).

    If you want it, you're gonna have to go back to Froyo (2.2)
     
  3. ruinah

    ruinah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    luckily still on Froyo. I can get barnacle wifi tethering working just fine, I just prefer Wired tethering. I guess I will just have to stick with Barnacle for a while.
     
  4. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    pdanet works

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  5. dukr

    dukr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 2.2 and I've gotten tethering to work fine using Bluetooth.
     
  6. bigkhan

    bigkhan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never tried wired, but the wireless tether works great, I use it all the time on both laptops and with my xoom. Never miss a beat.
     
Search tags for this page
droid pro tether
,

droid pro tethering

,

tethering motorola pro