1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

tethering in 4.96 FC'n? :-(

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by RoyR80, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. RoyR80
    Offline

    RoyR80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Ok, i think the title speaks for itself. :-/

    I've fixed permissions, via both Rom manager and Chevy Tools.
    (I have deleted some scripts thru Chevys tools) Idk if i deleted something that may have effected tethering. I've never used tethering before. I have gone through all the setting in both wired and wireless, but neither work. :-/
    I really only care about wireless.
    I'm not a total rookie/noob, so I'm open to TE or Root explorer options to fix.
    Thank guys (and gals) :)
  2. OmegaXzer0
    Offline

    OmegaXzer0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I got the exact same problem. Barnacle works fine though.
  3. RoyR80
    Offline

    RoyR80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Omega, thx for tip, but i'd rather not have 2apps doing the same, plus, i'm loyal to chevy, and would like to use as much of his products as i can. (even though I'm aware he didn't create the tethering apps he provides) :)
  4. OmegaXzer0
    Offline

    OmegaXzer0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Actually, never mind. Barnacle and both Tethers aren't working. I was on 4.7 patch 1 before today and Barnacle always worked. Now Barnacle only connects but there is no internet connection and both Tethers FC. Any help/insight anyone?
  5. RoyR80
    Offline

    RoyR80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I suppose this is where we cry "panic" to Chevy/developers? :p
    (Just kidding Chev, i understand your busy) No super-rush, as it's not uber important, to ME anyways. :)
  6. mkloharry
    Offline

    mkloharry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also getting FC when opening wired tether. Also I am getting no increase in speed when I run speed test as before when I applied the patch myself.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  7. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually checked my speed last night before I updated and if anything, my speed was lower.

    Edit: Also, just delete Wireless Tether and install from the Market. I did that and it works just fine.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  8. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    wired tether fc, wireless works for me. This is the one that I used in my theme though..it replaces the one in SS stock.
  9. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    wired tether did not work when installed to /system/app. I moved it to /sdcard, and then clicked to install like a normal apk *using root explorer...and it installed fine. no more FC...however...it says unable to start tether.

    So...fc fixed, but still no tether.
  10. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have wired tether installed (as usual) in /data/app

    Just connected just fine .. and have full internet access. Using v1.4
  11. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    yes sir! works for me as well.

    Bizzare as to why this is included in /system/app in the ss notheme flash...so it installs in system/app.

    Doing this will not allow the binaries and config files to install as they would when you use the package installer for this app.

    Need to delete that from my theme...as I included it since you had it in the /system/app folder.

    Works fine after installing via /data/app.

    Thanks chevy!
  12. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DOH! That was never supposed to be in there in the first place! Removed for the next version ;)
  13. EAK
    Offline

    EAK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine force closed at first too, just uninstalled it in TB and went into data/app and installed it from there, works fine now.
  14. DroidLvr73
    Offline

    DroidLvr73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    Overclocking in SS 4.96

    Noob here to ROMS and Overclocking. SS 4.96 is my first ROM and I like it. However I am not understanding exactly how to adjust the Overclocking settings. In ChevyNo1 Tools there is an option to click but then it directs you to /system/xbin/chevyno1/setscaling.d1 Please can someone give me a step by step on how to access this. Lost on where to get access to the file. Any help would be appreciated. Ty!

    EDIT- was trying to post this as a New Thread, sorry!
  15. gyoza
    Offline

    gyoza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    hey this being here is preventing me from removing it, or installing 2.0.6 as 2.0.5 is FC'ing and cant remove it out of the system folder to try to install the latest.

    Uninstall from the normal process does not work too, can i just delete it as root?
  16. gyoza
    Offline

    gyoza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    FYI got bored, tried this

    mount -o,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    rm android.tether.apk
    rm android.tether.usb.apk

    reinstalled the 2.0.6 apk, all is well. thx