Tethering Function

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by scillamonster, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. scillamonster

    scillamonster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried the new tethering function that's on 2.2? I was monkeying around with it a little bit ago and couldn't get any pages to load on my computer. All I keep getting is an error msg saying bad certificate or some other bs like that. Anyone actually have any luck with this feature?
     
  2. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use wireless tethering and pdanet for wired tethering. both work well
     
  3. Hangdog42

    Hangdog42 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The "stock" tethering (accessed through the Settings menus) requires a separate Verizon data plan. Wireless and PDAnet seem to get around whatever restrictions Verizon did with the stock tethering.
     
  4. gdkoger

    gdkoger New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which wireless tethering software of you using? I use PDAnet for wired and think it works well.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've used the Wireless tether app for 6 or 7 months on a number of different roms, including FROYO, without issues. Several members report that the Barnacle tethering app works very well.

    Mike
     
  6. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think its called Wireless Tether for Root Users

    The APK is floating around somewhere
     
  7. gdkoger

    gdkoger New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about for non-rooted Droid's?
     
  8. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not sure, sorry
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I believe for non rooted you need PDAnet. Not sure if there are others.

    Mike
     
  10. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    easy tether works as well for non root, at least it does for my friends aria and captivate

    havent tried it myself however
     
  11. flydoc

    flydoc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used easy tether and it works great. The free version won't let you access secured sites (password protected. I haven't tried the paid version, but it is pretty inexpensive.
     
Search tags for this page
droid tething for pageplus
,
how to tether droid x2 pageplus
,
page plus tethering not working
,
page plus x2 tether
,

pageplus droid tether

,
tether certificate issues
,
tether droid 2 pageplus
,

tether droid pageplus

,

tether pageplus droid

,
tethering android on page plus