1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Tethering Blocked!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by NeoJerk, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    So, my OG Droid gave up the ghost, and now I am using my replacement Samsung Continuum (only free android phone available). Right before my Droid got stuck in Airplane Mode, I accidentally left it on all night while tethered via EasyTether. The following day, my tethering would show as connected, but I could no longer access the internet. After getting my replacement Continuum, I tried to download Barnacle Wifi Tether (after rooting), and received the same result. I'm just wondering if Verizon blocked my line from tethering, and, if so, what I can do to get it back. I rooted my friend's OG Droid and was able to successfully root and tether it via Barnacle. Help!
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Barnacle is always hit or miss for me. On GB it almost never works. It worked best on froyo. Try going to /settings/apps/manage apps/barnacle/force stop/wipe data and see if that works.
  3. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    Thanks but no dice. I lost the ability to even tether via USB, even on my OG before I got this phone. I think it's my line they blocked. I'm just wondering what I could call and say to get it turned back on...or if I can change those settings myself somehow.
  4. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    I don't think they could stop you from tethering. I have gotten the messages from them saying you need to pay but I don't think they could actually block your line from tethering. That's really weird though...
    How many apps have you tried using? I never use Barnacle because it doesn't work for me...
  5. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    Well, I tried EasyTether (which ALWAYS worked in the past) on both the Droid and my Continuum, then I tried Barnacle on the Continuum. Odd thing is I can get Barnacle to work on my friend's OG Droid. Weird indeed.
  6. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    OK, so I am VERY glad to be wrong on this one! Tried the Android Wifi Tether app, but the beta didn't work. Once I realized it was a beta, I tried the last stable version...SUCCESS!!!so thank you very much for That suggestion.
Search tags for this page

barnicla wifi three block

,

contium wifi tether

,

how to block tethering on galaxy

,

is tethering on continuum free

,

samsung easytether blocked

,

verizonecontinnum hacks