Tethering Blocked!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by NeoJerk, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    So, my OG Droid gave up the ghost, and now I am using my replacement Samsung Continuum (only free android phone available). Right before my Droid got stuck in Airplane Mode, I accidentally left it on all night while tethered via EasyTether. The following day, my tethering would show as connected, but I could no longer access the internet. After getting my replacement Continuum, I tried to download Barnacle Wifi Tether (after rooting), and received the same result. I'm just wondering if Verizon blocked my line from tethering, and, if so, what I can do to get it back. I rooted my friend's OG Droid and was able to successfully root and tether it via Barnacle. Help!
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Barnacle is always hit or miss for me. On GB it almost never works. It worked best on froyo. Try going to /settings/apps/manage apps/barnacle/force stop/wipe data and see if that works.
  3. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    Thanks but no dice. I lost the ability to even tether via USB, even on my OG before I got this phone. I think it's my line they blocked. I'm just wondering what I could call and say to get it turned back on...or if I can change those settings myself somehow.
  4. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    I don't think they could stop you from tethering. I have gotten the messages from them saying you need to pay but I don't think they could actually block your line from tethering. That's really weird though...
    How many apps have you tried using? I never use Barnacle because it doesn't work for me...
  5. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    Well, I tried EasyTether (which ALWAYS worked in the past) on both the Droid and my Continuum, then I tried Barnacle on the Continuum. Odd thing is I can get Barnacle to work on my friend's OG Droid. Weird indeed.
  6. NeoJerk
    Offline

    NeoJerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, MO
    OK, so I am VERY glad to be wrong on this one! Tried the Android Wifi Tether app, but the beta didn't work. Once I realized it was a beta, I tried the last stable version...SUCCESS!!!so thank you very much for That suggestion.
Search tags for this page

barnicla wifi three block

,

contium wifi tether

,

how to block tethering on galaxy

,

is tethering on continuum free

,

samsung easytether blocked

,

verizonecontinnum hacks