Tether hack

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by jkcsho, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. jkcsho
    Offline

    jkcsho New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Has nebody heard anything about the tether hack on the d4? I wonder if it will be like the d3?

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  2. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    if you're talking about wireless tether just go get foxfi from the market. no root required, works flawlessly.
  3. greenmile
    Offline

    greenmile New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FoxFi isn't working for me. Get a WiFi connection but it's limited/no IP address. I tried their suggestion of turning on WiFi, connecting and disconnecting from a wireless network first, but still not working.
  4. greenmile
    Offline

    greenmile New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My bad - I forgot I had a static IP address set on my laptop so DHCP was failing. Changed the DHCP starting IP to 192.168.1.x and it worked.

    Also, now that I rooted and did the SQLLite hack to turn off "entitlement_check" setting, I uninstalled FoxFi since it works natively now.
  5. hashbaz83
    Offline

    hashbaz83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Confirmed, I just did this as well. I'm getting 8mb/s downloads and 1mb/s uploads.
  6. pgreeny
    Offline

    pgreeny New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working great here as well. Awesome! Thanks

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  7. RoninX
    Offline

    RoninX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    PDANet also works perfectly on the D4.
  8. Coalase
    Offline

    Coalase New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    don't know why but Foxfi is saying "fail to start hotspot, your phone is not yet supported" for me.

    EDIT: working fine now after a rebooting, awesome!

    USB tethering works fine with PDANet
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  9. BullysonRazor
    Offline

    BullysonRazor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This app works I just hope it sticks.Nice to have again since I'm no longer rooted anymore.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. Meteora
    Offline

    Meteora New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For those who have used PDAnet, can you confirm the bluetooth and wifi tether works on the droid 4?
  11. alex94kumar
    Offline

    alex94kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can report that Wireless Tether Version 3.1 Beta 11 works perfectly on my rooted droid 4. The speeds are incredible, im getting tethering speeds of 18mbps, and i watched a 1080p youtube video with absolutely no lag. im really loving 4g.

    EDIT: i strongly suggest only using a wireless tether while plugged in and charging. you will absolutely murder your battery life during tethering
  12. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me too...but I noticed that I am getting the "Tethering or hotspot active" icon/message in the notification bar. Are you getting that as well? Is it a cause for concern?
  13. Meteora
    Offline

    Meteora New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice!!!

    Another question which would be off the topic in this thread.
    There have been alot of posts on the web that the droid 4 is able to connect to gsm networks and that this feature will be available down the road for those who travel outside the us.

    http://www.phonearena.com/news/The-...ll-be-Verizons-first-LTE-world-phones_id25775

    For those who rooted there phones, is this option available in the settings/network section or is it a matter of unlocking the phone.
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  14. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that while the radio in the phone is CDMA/GSM/LTE, the Droid 4 doesn't actually have a GSM SIM card slot (unless it uses the same slot as the LTE SIM). So I'm not sure how one would be able to roam globally with this phone.
  15. alex94kumar
    Offline

    alex94kumar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i really dont think so, its probably just the phone getting confused over what is using its tethering service. but i could be wrong
  16. pgreeny
    Offline

    pgreeny New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get the same message also.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  17. obogobo
    Offline

    obogobo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EDIT: Nvm didn't read the other posts, I also get the Hotspot or Tethering Running Notification and stable version 2.07 does NOT work.
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  18. quizzard
    Offline

    quizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SQLLite tether hack working great here. Just make sure you remember to reboot!
  19. keeleon
    Offline

    keeleon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this the same hack as on the Bionic? Do you happen to know how to find that field with DB Browser app instead of the SQLLite? I found the right settings.db, but when I look inside it there's nothing anywhere that says entitlement check. Maybe I just don't understand databases that well? I'm trying to be as cheap as possible here ;)
  20. jkcsho
    Offline

    jkcsho New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will it charge you if you use the included tether app? 4g is so fast I'm thinking about cutting my cable internet off. Getting dl speeds of 20+mbps

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

foxfi dhcp

,
foxfi dhcp not working
,
foxfi hack
,

foxfi internet not detected

,

foxfi ip address

,
foxfi no dhcp
,
foxfi no ip
,

foxfi no ip address

,
foxfi not giving ip address
,
foxfi not obtaining ip address
,
lg spectrum hotspot hack
,
lg spectrum mobile hotspot hack