testing Fennec (pre-alpha version)

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by zMd113, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. zMd113

    zMd113 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    OKC
    Ratings:
    +0
    testing Fennec browser from Mozilla (pre-alpha version)

    I will be testing out Fennec on my Droid Incredible. So I'll sort of be using this as a blog to keep people updated about it. If your using Fennec as well please update us about your likes/dislikes etc.
    If you want to join in on the experiment download Fennec and give it a whirl!
    Mozilla Officially Unveils A Pre-Alpha Test Version Of Firefox For Android

    Or download here bit.ly/fennec-android

    Incredible users: once the download is complete, hit menu>more>downloads>long hold Fennec>open via package installer. It will ask you to check a privacy deal do that then continue installing, done, enjoy!
    Then from the Home menu>settings>applications>make sure to uncheck that privacy box it's for safety reasons.
     
    #1 zMd113, Jul 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  2. zMd113

    zMd113 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    OKC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's definitely pre-alpha, buggy, slow, sometimes force closes. I see some really nice features that I look forward to using though. Super easy to start a new tab, add-ons just like in FireFox. So far when viewing web sites I can't zoom in by pinching, I have to tap, tap, to get a closer look.
     
  3. Leonius

    Leonius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded on a moto droid and it just gives me a black screen...guess I need a droid x lol
     
  4. zMd113

    zMd113 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    OKC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually it works better on MOTO Droid, just google search how to properly install it.
     
  5. leadhead

    leadhead Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah I used to run it on my Droid actually, it was the build before the current one but it actually never FC'd on me. I just used APK installer to install it and it worked fine
     
  6. Leonius

    Leonius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The blog I got the .apk file from didn't mention anything about needing special install...I'm wondering if it's due to the 2.2 or rom I'm running.