Test ROMs

Discussion in 'AngDroid' started by AngDroid, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. jcatt

    jcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also recommend that voice search and command be included in the base rom, it is a "major" feature point for froyo... Unless your reasons to remove it out weighed the reasons to keep it...

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    In case this happens to anyone else...the "would you like to give this app superuser permissions" dialog was appearing repeatedly for apps each time I opened them.

    I launched Superuser and it prompted that an updated version of the su binary was available...I OK'd the update and the repeating permissions dialog appear to be gone.

    AngDroid...can you update the SU binary in the ROM?
     
  3. gh0ul

    gh0ul New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tested it thoroughly, and i like it! the only problem i have is facebook contacts not integrating with my contacts...anyone know how to fix this? (i already have it in my "accounts"). it worked with your VZW 2.4.5 Clean ROM...

    and yes i followed the directions exactly (even factory reset from android)

    ps - id also like to see swipe included :)
     
    #15 gh0ul, Oct 10, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  4. mikecastdogg

    mikecastdogg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Battery FC, Email, etc...

    Let me start by saying awesome work on this. This thing is clean and fast!

    I followed the directions to the letter and at first no FC on the battery manager. Woke up this AM and it has been happening all morning.

    Email app. Not sure if follow other forums, but the core email application has some serious known issues with Corporate/exchange push email not functioning. I have mine setup and will be testing throughout the day and report back any changes that 2.4.5 may have brought to this known problem.

    I would love to get some of the stock apps back like quickoffice, 3g Hotspot (company pays and i like wpa2) , voicemail, etc... Any time line on the recovery zips? if you have an alternate way to do this like zips in one of your old roms, I will be happy to test. also, any way to get D2 MMS with bubbles and the gallery?

    Keep up the good work.

    Thanks,

    Mike
    AngDroid_2.4.5_SCBSVAPRO.zip
     
  5. AngDroid

    AngDroid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mediasync

    If anyone is having problems with a driver not being installed when you plug your phone into computer it is because the mediasync.apk is missing. HotFix is on the first page.

    In the Pro versions I believe the facebook and twitter sync work. You may need to restart for it to kick in.

    Will include swype.

    Voice search can be downloaded from market. Not included for that reason. Will add voice command.

    Superuser keeps asking cause it may have failed the first time. Just delte the cache and data for the superuser app. I tried with the latest binary but that always made it act funny.

    When stating a bug please let me know what version you are running.

    If you want some other packages that are missing for the time being then get the full ROM in the other thread and just pull the packages you want, place them in system/app folder ant set permissions to 644.

    The install packages for some left out features will be up in a couple of days. Taking a break from this to enjoy phone and my volume and camera buttons are getting loose from using them so much :)
     
    #17 AngDroid, Oct 10, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  6. AngDroid

    AngDroid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Added a super clean blur ROM. Nice ROM if I do say so myself :)

    I think this one may convert me to some of the blur social networking features :)

    Please test cause I want to make them official tonight/today.
     
    #18 AngDroid, Oct 10, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  7. jcatt

    jcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey AndDroid,

    I am running the SCBSVA edition. I seems to be exeriensing rando network data freezes, my signal strength remains strong but I loose internet and the 3g indicator is frozen with the transmit arrow illuminated... the only way to fix is reboot, or connect to wifi for a minute, and then disconnect. I don't know if this is an issue with this rom, but it never happened to the old one. So far this has happened twice since I loaded the rom last night...

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Jester822

    Jester822 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Newb here. Tried three of your ROMs in the last 24 hours. The latest was the new Clean Blur. The only possible ROM issue I have encountered so far is that Backup Assistant is there, but it won't work. It wouldn't start from the setup process, My Accounts, or the App tray.

    I really liked the black status bar in the SCBSVAPRO ROM. Would like color icons for it though so I guess I'll have to learn how to import a theme once I settle on a ROM.

    Now for some newb questions. I don't think they're related directly to the ROM, but probably the install process.

    When all my apps repopulate I get apps that I have previously removed, including non-market apps like NFS Shift and Latitude (in the VZW_Clean ROM I even had Blockbuster but not in the two newer ROMs I tried). Is this because I didn't do something beforehand that I should have?

    My contacts tab on the dialer show about 17 entries. I should have 44 or so. I imported a CSV from Backup Assistant to my gmail account and synced the gmail contacts but I still only have the 17 contacts. Here's where it gets weird. I found that if I open Contacts from the App tray or use voice command to lookup one of the missing contacts I it will pull it up. However, the contact still remains missing from the contact tab. Any idea how to correct this? Is it possible that Backup Assistant would populate if it was working?

    Is there anything in particular with this ROM (Clean w/Blur) you would like me to test and report back on?

    Thanks!
     
  9. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    No FC in battery manager for me after overnight charging...still working well.

    Not sure what serious known issues you're talking about w/the bluremail app/exchange accounts, but it's been perfect for me since I got my D2 w/2.2.20. What issues are you referring to?
     
  10. AngDroid

    AngDroid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have not had that problem and no one else has reported that yet from any of the current ROMs or past ROMs.

    I may have removed something that BUA may need. To get rid of NFS and Flash you need to go into the preinstall folder and delete the APK files from there. They wont show up any more.

    Just try out all the features and make sure they work properly. I have not used blur much so not sure how everything works.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Jester822

    Jester822 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks AngDroid. FTR, I figured out my contact problem. The Backup Assistant standard CSV isn't compatible with the Google Contacts. It put the phone number in the notes field and the dialer contacts didn't populate because there was no official phone number. The fix was to use the Backup assistant Outlook CSV file. Presto! Phone numbers are now in the phone filed and populating the contacts tab.
     
  12. jcatt

    jcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh ok, it's probably a local tower issue then. Verizon were doing something to them last week, but I thought they were finnished. Maybe they weren't...

    Thanks,

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
Similar Threads
  1. dakoop
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,338
  2. garbageman
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    982
  3. albel333
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    707
  4. ronlsjr
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    934
  5. Niv
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    910
Loading...