1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Terminal Emulator HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by NYZ93, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ok when i open up android terminal emu it shows a money symbol on the line i type in (is that normal??)
    When i click enter all i get is #:mad:
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yes it's normal. What are you trying to do?
  3. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    # is superuser, $ is normal (at least thats the way it was on the G1 and i think its unix std)
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I have superuser permissions and Bugless Beast 800mhz and I have $.
  5. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Well, i dunno how it is with the droid, but usually it is like that: you start the TE, its $; Once you type su and actually are superuser, you'll get #.
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    this is correct.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Oh ok, yeah then that is the case. I thought you meant as soon as you opened it.
  8. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    but then how do i get it to say allow like the rom instructions say its supposed to
  9. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    I am not too sure, what you mean, but:
    - you open the terminal emulator
    - type su and press enter
    - the superuser tool will prompt you, whether you want to allow this application (in this case TE) to access superuser rights
    - you click on "allow" or, if you want "always allow"

    Again, this is how it works on the G1.
Search tags for this page
android terminal emulator terminal type
,
android terminal emulator user guide
,
guides for the terminal emulator for android
,
how to press enter in android terminal
,
how to press enter in terminal emulator
,
how to press enter or ok in terminal emulator
,
how to type code in twrminal emulator
,
how to type in a terminal emulator
,
how to write in android terminal emulator
,
how to write in terminal android
,
symbols in amdroid terminal emulator
,
terminal emulater help
,
terminal emulator guide
,

terminal emulator help

,
typing in android terminal emulator