Terminal Emulator HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by NYZ93, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ok when i open up android terminal emu it shows a money symbol on the line i type in (is that normal??)
    When i click enter all i get is #:mad:
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yes it's normal. What are you trying to do?
  3. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    # is superuser, $ is normal (at least thats the way it was on the G1 and i think its unix std)
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I have superuser permissions and Bugless Beast 800mhz and I have $.
  5. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    Well, i dunno how it is with the droid, but usually it is like that: you start the TE, its $; Once you type su and actually are superuser, you'll get #.
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    this is correct.
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Oh ok, yeah then that is the case. I thought you meant as soon as you opened it.
  8. NYZ93
    Offline

    NYZ93 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    but then how do i get it to say allow like the rom instructions say its supposed to
  9. jdx
    Offline

    jdx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    I am not too sure, what you mean, but:
    - you open the terminal emulator
    - type su and press enter
    - the superuser tool will prompt you, whether you want to allow this application (in this case TE) to access superuser rights
    - you click on "allow" or, if you want "always allow"

    Again, this is how it works on the G1.
Search tags for this page
android terminal emulator terminal type
,
android terminal emulator user guide
,
guides for the terminal emulator for android
,
how to click entet in trminal emulatet
,
how to press enter in android terminal
,
how to press enter in terminal emulator
,
how to press enter or ok in terminal emulator
,
how to type in a terminal emulator
,
how to write in android terminal emulator
,
how to write in terminal android
,
symbols in amdroid terminal emulator
,
terminal emulater help
,
terminal emulator guide
,

terminal emulator help

,
typing in android terminal emulator