Temp too high?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Nerotoxen, May 28, 2010.

  1. Nerotoxen

    Nerotoxen Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol check this out... Not sure what kernel I was using at that time but it was the 1.2 on BB 1.1. She was running a gps program at that time it was taken I noticed my phone was a little hot to the touch on the back when I went to pick it up. Wasn't in direct sunlight either... She shut herself down about a min. after I took this. Pretty crazy stuff! So far I haven't noticed anything wrong with it at all since this happened. So needless to say I think they have an auto shutdown somewhere in there!!


    First time poster long time lurker :D
    Thanks for such a great website btw! You guys are a great community!
     
  2. KingTee

    KingTee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anytime you run GPS for long period its gonna make the phone run hot. Its because of the information that the GPS chip has to retrieve and because of the 1.2 kernal.
    Hope that helps.
     
  3. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    You didn't know the Droid can be used as a portable stove too?

    Edit: Also you shouldn't have your minimum in Setcpu set so high, and you need to set a failsafe so it won't get that hot.
     
  4. Nerotoxen

    Nerotoxen Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    True on both parts lol. Just installed cyanogen and looking for a new kernel atm. That BB 1.1 was the hottest one I've used so far. (Not just that one time but hottest in general use)
     
  5. thooten

    thooten New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try using one of p3droid's kernels instead of bekit's. I found they run MUCH cooler on my Droid.
     
  6. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    haha wow yeah no way that's healthy...why were you not using profiles?! haha
     
  7. Nerotoxen

    Nerotoxen Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just wanted my phone to be fast all the time I guess :D
    Never hurts to push the limits right? Maybe... but it didn't blow up so I'm still not hurt!
    **runs off to find some kernels**
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    hah yeah it's tempting...just use setCPU profiles, trust me you'll run so cool on BB you'll be amazed. profiles are a must though, especially if you're hitting 177! that's just ridonkulous.
     
  9. Nerotoxen

    Nerotoxen Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is with setCPU dude! The only thing is I just set it to the max and kept the min. at max as well. I didn't want this to go any slower than it could. I just picked up p3's 1.25 lv kern so I'm going to install that and run her for a while.

    edit: DOH! Didn't know you said setCPU profiles lol!
     
  10. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    haha i edited my original post....i meant profiles
     
  11. Nerotoxen

    Nerotoxen Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wow... lol!
     
  12. justjosh

    justjosh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    dude you have the minimum on 1200!!! go outside and get in your, put it in neutral and floor it for about 5 minutes with out letting off the gas and see what happens
     
Search tags for this page
android auto shutdown temperature too high
,
android battery shutdown temperature
,
android battery temperature too high shutdown
,

android temperature shutdown

,
android temperature too high shutdown
,
android temperature too high will shutdown
,
temperature too high shutdown android
,
what happen when phone temperature too high