Tell Me Why to Switch From Palm Pre to Droid

sweaner

Reaction score
I am new to the smart phone arena, having just started with a Pre Plus. I picked the Palm as I still use a Palm PDA and was hoping to get everything on one unit. After 2 weeks, while I like the Pre, I am thinking of making a switch. Why? The biggest reason is the notification options. I use the phone as a pager keep it on vibration. The Pre has a very weak vibe motor, and is really not at all configurable.

How is the Droid in this regard? I did download Smart Vibrator onto the Verizon demo phone at the store, and it seems it may help. Will the Droid send a reminder every 2 minutes when a new message is received? I needed a patch for the Pre for this function. Thanks!

Scott

joeymoose

Reaction score
Droid has a great Vibrator! (That what she said, huh?)

There are many apps that enable reminders every 2, 5, 10min, etc...

StepDroid

Official DF Vendor
Premium Member
Reaction score
i was gonna say something totally assinine but instead i'll just say look at the growth of the android OS and ALL of the companies that are going to it... the technology and the operating system will make your experience with your Droid a long and healthy one..

jrocketdroid

Reaction score
I would tell you to do it because Palm is a sliver of the company it used to be, and they ignored a large user base who supported their products by not focusing resources on their previous software, and then when they came out with a new OS, they completely essentially left all previous users out in the cold, as we could not install WebOS on older models.

Motorola is also a company on shaky ground, however Verizon is supporting the Droid full on, and it seems as if in the last 3 months we are getting decent attention...I might change my tune if we don't see an official 2.1 release in the next month or so...but that's an entirely different topic.

OK...hope that helps.

Elysian

Reaction score