Teathering with proxoid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by clwither, Nov 16, 2009.

1. clwither

clwither Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

Im new to the forum and I figured what way to make my mark besides telling you guys about an APP i discovered for tethering called proxoid.
    It seems to look pretty promising especially considering the claim that it makes where you can actually tether your phone without having to root it.

It claims to use the USB debugging mode on the phone along with the phones drivers. I know that was "very" insightful, but just like you right now im pretty brand new to this app. I figured id just spread the word. I will be attempting to use my phone to make a successful connection to the internet later tonight and will respond later with my findings and a writeup.

proxoid - Project Hosting on Google Code

The usb driver on the website above did not work for me so i found this ->http://www.smilepak.com/temp/Droid_USB_Driver.zip

Last edited: Nov 16, 2009
  2. clwither

clwither Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys!!! GOOOD NEWS!!! IT WORKS!!! HAHA

Ok so here are the steps.
    Downloads:
    1) Use the website above proxoid - Project Hosting on Google Code to download the appropriate adb for your opperating system
    2) Download the SDK developers pack from Download the Android SDK | Android Developers
    3) Download Proxoid from the Android Market on your Droid

Installation:
    1) Turn on USB Debugging on the phone
    2) Your computer may or may not have come up with a message saying that it cannot install a driver, thats cool thats what the SDK is for =).
    3) Map the driver
    right click my comp>manage>device manager> right click the A855 and select update driver software.