TBolt root doesn't work

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by SquireSCA, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +100
    Followed the instructions for EasyRoot, simply doesn't work. It does step 1 and pushes all the files over, and then nothing. You can reboot the phone and it is supposed to flash something, and it doesn't.

    So either this new "easy" root is not quite ready for prime time, or the instructions suck and they are leaving some steps out.

    Any idears?

    Instructions were from here:

    [Updated: 3/26]Easyroot + S-Off [Version 1.6.3.11] - xda-developers
     
  2. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran into the same thing..

    On my Vista laptop - Step 1 would "push files" (very quickly) and then reboot my phone into the bootloader option screen. No files were actually pushed, and I was only really able to reboot the phone normally.

    So I copied everything over to my Windows 7 netbook and set up the drivers and HTC Sync. This time, I ran Step 1 and it took a long time to push the file over. I checked the SD card and the file isn't there. Nothing happened after that "push". No reboot, nothing. Since others are doing it successfully, it would have to be something environmental. The software is supposed to work a certain way, and all we have to do is push "Step 1". There must be something with either our phones, or our computers that is acting a different way.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. mark3748

    mark3748 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    On windows vista and 7 you can try to run it as an admin. should be able to right-click and the Run as Administrator.

    Other than that, I have no idea. I did the manual method, to tell you the truth it's probably easier to do it that way than the "easy" method. It's only 6 extra steps and you'll have a better idea of where your problems are.
     
  4. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would try their suggestions or try anther PC, and make sure you have ADB setup properly and the HTC sync drivers installed.

    Because the process works quite well and is very easy.
     
  5. stonedoubt

    stonedoubt Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted mine using EasyRoot this morning... so you must be doing something wrong. Make sure you download the PDF with instructions... it tells you what to do step by step. I had to do some of the steps multiple times.
     
  6. Its TwiX

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Easy roots are more trouble than they are worth. Read the ADB for dummies guide and you will be able to do the Adb manual root. The only way you will have a problem when you Adb root is if you didn't do it right. Easy roots have problems whether you do it right or not. People will also be more likely to help you if you run into problems in the manual root.

    Just my $.02

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  7. kwiksilvr

    kwiksilvr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will wait for a one click deal...
     
  8. mjbalys

    mjbalys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had no problem with EasyRoot other than having to restart each step maybe twice. The files pushed fine when I ran the program as admin.

    Also if the files not pushing is the only part, download them and use a card reader to move the files yourself. Maybe that would help.
     
  9. LTLFTCer

    LTLFTCer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Where sunshine is
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took me about 7 or 8 tries yesteray to get the 3-step to work. Finally did. Just stinks it is about an hour for each cycle.

    Running Windows 7-32 bit.
     
  10. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Took me about 30 mins total using the easy root process with my Windows 7 32bit machine. I had to restart rooter.exe each step but other than that it went really smoothly. Enjoying a rooted Thunderbolt. :D
     
  11. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Rooting this device is not a one click deal. You have to have things set up properly and follow the directions carefully.

    If you do those things it is very easy. And if something doesn't work its because you've done something wrong or don't have your computer prepared... Period.
     
  12. SquireSCA

    SquireSCA Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +100
    I guess that is what I was kinda cheezed about, that they keep talking about "one click" rooting, but it isn't anything like that. It's many clicks, many reboots, attempting 2 or 10 times, etc...

    This is my girlfriend's phone and she wants tethering, but I think I am gonna hold off and not risk bricking her new phone until someone comes out with a REAL "one click" root.

    That's the problem I guess. If you are a programmer and hacker, this probably seems easy, and they tend to assume that everyone knows the basics and takes certain things for granted, etc... It's why many programmers make horrible programming teachers.

    Anyway, thanks for confirming that it isn't just me, and that this is a bit more complicated than the instructions and threads would indicate.

    I will wait till they figure out a better one.
     
  13. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    She should have free tethering until May 15th. So wait till then and figure out what you want to do.

    Josh
     
  14. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +168
    I appreciate the backhanded compliment. I am neither a programmer or a hacker but my phone is rooted. I did the step by step instructions. They may not be written that well for dummies like me, but with the help of other TB users who do have more programming and hacking knowledge, they got me through it and I couldn't be happier with my TB.
     
  15. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    And on those lines, in all honesty....the step by step instructions are pretty straight forward, but if you still have problems and/or dont understand them....you shouldnt be messing with it. Just for the simply fact of destroying your phone. Do more reading, do your homework, worry about root later.
     
Search tags for this page

gps doesn't work after root jailbreak droid 4

,

help me phone roots worker in charlotte nc

,

htc thunderbolt wont root

,

tbolt does not have fre3vo/data/local/temp folder