Task Manager

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by shortie43506, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. shortie43506
    Offline

    shortie43506 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    Anyone else look at the pre installed task manager on the Rezound? Mine shows I am typically using over 600 mb of ram, with only about 160 mb free, but I have nothing open in the task manager. Even when I have something showing open and I hit kill, it still shows I am using the same amount.

    Just wondering why it is so off? I would just like to have an accurate task manager...any options??

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  2. didiwags
    Offline

    didiwags New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have looked at the task manager and noticed it said I was using a lot of ram but I have not killed anything. Just left it!

    Sent from my Rezound
  3. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    eh...dont use it...task managers are evil. the os will kill things when needed. 160mb of ram is plenty without root.
  4. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I have the same. I'm not really worried about it but I am curious as to why it is so incredibly inaccurate.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  5. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    It's not innacurate. It's just that you can't see everything that it's hiding from you. Install a terminal emulator and run "top -n 1". You'll see what's using your RAM(No you don't need root for this).
  6. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    It's very inaccurate compared to when you go in to manage applications and check the ram usage.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  7. WallyIAm
    Offline

    WallyIAm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frozen Tundra
    Sorry for reviving a dormant post, but I didn't want to create clutter with an identical thread. So what's the current thinking on the stock task manager installed by HTC? Seemed the consensus back in the OG droid days was that they served no useful purpose other than if you had a stubborn app that wouldn't quit. Is HTC's written differently?
  8. bdsullivan76
    Offline

    bdsullivan76 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't think so. Task managers all perform the same way in general on an android system. The best way to control ram is to make sure you close out of an app when your done rather than hitting the home button and going on to a new app.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
  9. MikeyTG
    Offline

    MikeyTG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a setting under Applications that starts task manager automatically - I turned it off on day one! My experience is that Android manages tasks and memory just fine on its own.
Search tags for this page
find task manager on my htc resound phone
,
how do i get to my htc rezound task manager
,
how do i use my task killer on my rezound
,
how to set task manager on htc rezound
,
htc rezound task killer
,

htc rezound task manager

,
htc rezound task manager memory
,

task manager htc rezound

,
where is task master on htc results
,
why is my task manager so busy htc rezound