Task Killer

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jediracer, May 31, 2011.

  1. jediracer

    jediracer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm wanting to add some tasks to the 'kill list' To add tasks to the list I thought all I had to do was add them to the csm.lst file in the /data/chevyno1/ directory (per the note in ChevyNo1 Tools). When I navigate to the /data/ folder I get the message "Directory is empty" using Astro and File Manager.

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. bigeric828

    bigeric828 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What file explorer are you using? Some can't see the data folder.

    use root explorer or ES file explorer(if u use this one, make sure to go into its settings>root options> and check both boxes.)

    I think im going to make some changes to this as well. :)
     
  3. jediracer

    jediracer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried using Astro, File Manager and ES File Explorer. All 3 state the file is empty.
     
  4. listenman20

    listenman20 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can't speak for the other file explorers but astro has never been able to see what's in the data folder. i have to use root explorer for anything i do in that folder myself.
     
  5. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    If the file browser does not execute as root - it cannot see /data ... that is for sure!
     
  6. jediracer

    jediracer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded Root Explorer. I was able to navigate to /data/chevyno1 and I made a copy of csm.lst (for backup). I then opened cms.lst in Text Editor and made a few changes. I selected Save & Exit and re-opened the file to confirm my changes 'stuck' and they did not.

    Why would my changes not save? I did mount as r/w.
     
  7. jediracer

    jediracer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured it out. I changed the permissions of csm.lst. After I uncheck all of the 'Execute' boxes I was able to edit the file.
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for posting up what worked for you - I will be sure to make this change going forward.
     
  9. Gremlin

    Gremlin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    Anyone know how to uninstall Task Killer? I think that is what is killing my battery... I do not want to root it yet..
     
  10. gsDroid

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't think the built-in task killer does anything unless you set it up to automatically kill something.
     
  11. Gremlin

    Gremlin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    aargh well battery went from 40% to 20% and locked up.. Had to remove the battery to get it back on aarrgggh... might have to return the phone..
     
  12. ariesnet80

    ariesnet80 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need a task killer for my phone, if so which one is recommended??
     
  13. Crux

    Crux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seriously, Android Assistant is the way to go.
    Its a multifunctional tool with a task killer included as well as
    A bunch of other very useful tools such as Quick Boost.

    Another alternative is Advanced Task Killer.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  14. drtnsnw

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You do not need Any task killer with 2.2 or 2.3. They will rob you of battery capacity and just cause programs to reopen after they have been closed. Froyo does a great job of handling memory all by itself.

    Chris
     
  15. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    So then why do phones come with a task killer preinstalled?

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
Similar Threads
  1. cdogg777
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    769
  2. cisco84
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,040
  3. Tmizzle
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    5,970
  4. My91sho
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    954
Loading...
Search tags for this page

where is the built in task manager for motorola droid x ging