Taking off one theme to add another

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ChasK510, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. ChasK510

    ChasK510 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to take the theme I have now and remove it so I can put on another, what is the best way to go about doing this?

    Thanks
     
  2. raidzero

    raidzero n00b.
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    The best way would be to crack open the update.zip of your current theme and the new one and compare to see what's changed between the two. if the theme you want to apply has everything your current theme does or more, then just apply the new theme right over the old one. If not, you might end up with a mismash of two themes
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    The best way is to make a nandroid backup of the rom without a theme prior to loading a theme. Assuming you did not do that, I'd simply reinstall the rom. Oh and make a backup before you do that in case you decide to go with this theme again later.

    Good luck.
     
  4. raidzero

    raidzero n00b.
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    or that... lol

    I always over-complicate things...
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never tried this, but couldn't you just flash the original stock update.zip full ROM to your phone without wiping? Like I said, I dono. You might have to sign in again and reload some data? Anyone?...
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Actually very, very good point. Do not wipe anything prior to reloading the rom. You will loose nothing then and not have to worry about your apps or other data. Just reinstall the rom - no wiping!! Then make a backup and then install the new theme.
     
  7. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me know how this works, just to see if it does :)
     
  8. justatest

    justatest Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Athens,AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have done this & i had a bootloop. i was running a sapphire rom. had to wipe & reinstall