Takes two starts to get going???

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by jimisbell, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    No, I dont think Viagra will help....

    Droid X, out of contract, dont want to upgrade and loose unlimited data:

    Recently, if I turn off the phone it will take two starts to get it going again. I think it started this the last time they automatically updated the system.

    What I mean is that if I press the top button for 4 seconds until it starts to boot then wait, it will go into a blank, but back lighted screen, and stop there. Then I open the back, remove the battery, 5 seconds, replace the battery, and press the top button for only 3 seconds and it will then re boot properly.

    It does this EVERY TIME IT IS SHUT DOWN.

    Is there anyway to get it back to one start? The back cover is getting worn out and wont stay on because of wear!

    I have a spare DX that my son in law gave me when he changed suppliers that works. If I have them move my number to the other phone will I have to open a new contract...lose my unlimited data...etc?

    Is there a way to keep them from updating my system? I lost my root when they updated it! Also lost Market which I really miss. It seems like every time they update, something goes wrong!
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,516
    Likes Received:
    689
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    You should be able to switch phones with no problem. I do it all the time... I bounce between an x, x2 on one line, have a bionic on another, and I bounce between 2 maxx's on my main line.

    So it shouldn't be an issue, you can. Do it yourself... turn off your current x. Power on the other x, call *228 and follow the prompts. Shouldn't take more than a few mins, sign in to your gmail account and poof there ya go.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!

    Ohhh and they aren't taking unlimited data right now. If you ha e an upgrade available, if you want to use it, go ahead. You're fine. I don't think it'll be until July or later that they start the tiered data stuff.

    But they have to inform you of it either way. So right now you're safe.
  3. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    one thing you can do to hopefully fix it... sounds like probably a factory reset or an sbf to the current system version should help what's going on... and i see your phone says your rooted... so you should be able to use something like titanium backup/my backup to back up apps/data then restore it once ya clean things up a bit.. that should help...

    as far as the battery cover... ya... it's got a couple tabs on the bottom... that spread out a bit after some pulls(i use to rock two batteries... and have pulled the battery many, many times...) you can just use a nice hard object(ie table/counter what not) to push them back in just a touch and that should fix the problem with the battery cover...
  4. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    Yes, it was rooted....but after the automatic update it is no longer rooted!!

    I moved the account to the second phone, no problems, but it has a non-stock system on it, something called MiUi and while it works as a telephone, and boots on the first try, it wont connect to the network. I suspect some setting on the MiUi system but I dont know that system. Now I need to go by the Verizon office and get them to take it back to stock....if they will. But for now, its a telephone that will boot without pulling the battery.
  5. jimisbell
    Offline

    jimisbell New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Third Coast
    I think I figured out the problem, but I still need a solution.

    The MiUi seems to need an account to work. I dont know if the account is free or something I have to pay for, but without it I dont seem to be able to access the network.

    I could get back to the stock system and I dont mind that, but I dont know how to do that either? Without root that may be problematic?

    Any suggestions??