System update while rooted?

mikespe

Reaction score
I woke this morning to find a system update message on my D1. I have been rooted for about a month now so I am still learning all things root. Do I have to unroot for this update or is there a work around to be able to update? I used Soup & Root to root my phone. I guess the update improves gmail functionality and some other "improvements".

Thanks for the help! :)

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

OP
M

mikespe

Reaction score
OK...I saw this thread regarding the update and it answered my question. However I did forget to add that I am NOT running a ROM just stock Droid with a Chevy Kernel. I would like to still check out the new Gmail improvements as well as the improved battery life. Anyway to get those extracted from the zip?

OP
M

mikespe

Reaction score
One more issue...(I wish someone would reply...LOL) I keep getting the update notification for this update even though I tell it to install later. It's getting annoying. Is there a way to turn off the notification...even a hack I could do? thanks

buckmarble

Developer
Developer
Theme Developer
Reaction score
No way to stop it to my knowledge on stock rooted Frg22d. You can install a stock rooted version on frg83d and that will stop the notification. Ill see if I can find a link for you. From what I've been reading the new OTA update disables your current root. And thus all thing root that go along with it. So easiest way is to do what I stated above. Its very easy to install a rom and you'll maintain your root access.

Update: looks like metickone is looking for the full frg83d update file and as soon as he has it he will have it already rooted and ready to flash and he will have a link in his custom roms section for download.

OP
M

mikespe

Reaction score