System Update fail

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by boscher50, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I've been having this popup come up like 7 times a day... it says:

    System update

    A system update is ready to install. Your phone will restart and install the update. You will not be able to make any calls, including emergency calls, during installation.

    Install Now / Install Later / More info..

    I click install now, my fone reboots anndddd....

    SPRecovery opens...

    I go to 'install'

    my options are:

    Choose ROM from SD card
    Allow update.zip installation
    and
    Install /sdcard/update.zip (depracted)

    right under that it says:
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    verifying update package...
    E:Update.zip install blocked
    installation aborted.

    What do I do?
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It sounds like 2.1 is trying to install. Since you have SPRecovery installed it prevents you from installing it.

    You're rooted and running a custom ROM correct?

    There is something that can be done about the update message, or you can just ignore it.
  3. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if I WANT my phone to upgrade??

    How do I disable the message popup (worst case?)
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Then you'll have to roll your phone back to 2.0.1 using sbf. I think there is a sticky saying how to do this in the hacks area.

    Let me move this over to the hacking area. It's a better spot then here for this type of issue.
  5. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, I guess I'm just going to try and ignore the message popup then. Do you mind telling me how to do that?
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
  7. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please... lol help me.
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Let's see if the Rescue Squad can help you out.
  9. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sarcasm? :icon_eek:
  10. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    What rom are you running?

    did you hit allow update.zip installation before you hit install?

    what baseband are you running?
  11. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    by Rescue Squad, he means a different part of the forums. he may have moved your thread to there?
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Not at all, just trying to help you out my friend.;)
  13. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I didn't hit ALLOW..

    I don't want it to destroy my gorgeous cell phone.

    Should I hit allow and THEN try and update??
    (considering it said 'blocked')
  14. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    if you want your phone to update(a question you asked earlier) you must hit allow before you hit install.

    check your baseband, alot of people got a 2nd 2.1 update because their baseband was not updated correctly.

    if you update, you will lose root, but you can always do the ese81.sbf to get sprecovery back.
  15. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    omg i have no idea ... just- never mind. someone tell me how to disable the popup <3
  16. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    goto settings, about phone and what is your baseband version.
  17. boscher50
    Offline

    boscher50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    c_01.3e.01p
  18. lilcdroid
    Offline

    lilcdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    you might try renaming the otacerts file in the /etc/security folder to otacerts.zip.bak. Make note of the file. Wait a few days or possibly weeks, then remove the .bak. This will stop the OTA from trying to upgrade your phone, but it will pull drain on your battery. You will still need undo root if you want to allow the upgrades. SPRecovery blocks the install so you have to have a stock recovery to allow it to update. IF your still on 2.0.1 then i would install DroidUpdater, this will undo the root process and flash the stock recovery back for you.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2010
  19. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    dont rename the otacerts file it kills your battery.

    that is your problem, you are getting the update because of you baseband. do you have rom manager?
    your baseband should be C_01.3E.03P, once you update your baseband the update will go away.
  20. slammed
    Offline

    slammed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincy, OH
    go download rom manager(free version), flash clockwork recovery, goto download rom, cyanogenmod, then flash the radio update(C_01.3E.03P)
Search tags for this page

a system update is ready to install

,
cyanogenmod system update is ready s3
,
install now install later popup
,
what would cause a system update to fail on a droid