1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

System problems

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by luv2golf, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I flashed PE4.2 and now I have major problems. I did all the usual, wipe, format, etc. I have flashed roms for 6 months and never had these problems. My apps will not download from the market. When I try to clear the cache, the app mgr says computing and will not let me. I get a lot of system FC's.
    TB will not restore my backups. It just "thinks" but will not perform the function.
    I have flashed a backup but the problems still exist.
    When I go to manage apps and press sd card, nothing shows up. I pulled the card and inserted it in my computer and I can access the contents.
    I went into recovery in partitions menu and mounted sd card but still unable to connect.
    When I try to usb connect to the computer, it will recognize the phone but the phone will not communicate with the computer even though all the drivers are there.
    I found I can restore all system info from TB but not any apps.
    Someone please help. [​IMG]

    Edit: I think my problems started when I used hot boot. I get an error msg "Process system is not responding". I have to do a battery pull to reboot.
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
  2. pdc419
    Offline

    pdc419 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It sounds like you got a bad download. I would try to download again and install the new one after formatting. This happened to me on a different rom although my problems weren't as extensive. I hope this helps, I know that there's nothing more frustrating then when things like this happens.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Tried that multiple times with the same results. Thanks for the response. Hopefully someone else has experienced this and found a fix.
  4. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Did you get your phone up and running? in any state?
  5. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are u using a theme? Are u using a stock market? Which version of the rom did u dl? Did u make any mods to the zip file before u flashed? Do u know how to use alogcat?
  6. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I D/L 4.2 with a clean install per GLD guide. No theme nor anything special. No mods to the zip file. Flashed using CW.
    I have flashed quite a few ROM's and this is the first time this has occurred. Not blaming the ROM, this is just weird.
    Edit-never used alogcat
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  7. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, well i know sometimes the market is cranky and wont show my dld apps, but i have had this issue on all roms ive tried out. sometimes clearing the market data will work, sometimes using the market doctor from tibu and then downloading an app from teh market will refresh it for me. also fixing permissions might help too.

    the reason i asked about alogcat is because its kinda like a debugging tool and will let you send error logs to us so we can see what is failing on your phone.

    are you still having issues?
  8. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I flashed back to 4.1 from nandroid. The market will download but not install. I try the clear the cache but manage apps just says "computing". TB will restore system but will not restore apps. When I hook up usb the phone doesn't even reconized the usb cable
  9. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when you hook your phone up to the comp try it with debbuging mode turned off (if it is currently on)
  10. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I have tried that and just tried it again. The computer will reconize the phone but not let my access the sd card. I don't get the usb connect option on the phone.

    Edit-I also mounted the sd card in recovery with no luck
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  11. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u try a different ron or an older version do u still have this issue now?
  12. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I flashed to 4.1 with the same problems. I had UD2.5 from Dec which I flashed. The market will download sometimes but then unexpectedly stop. No matter which backup I use, I'm still unable to restore apps via TB and unable to connect with USB cable.
  13. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might need to sbf again
  14. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Is there a guide somewhere?. It's been so long I don't remember.
  15. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Never mind. Found a post from MotoCache1 on flashing an sbf file. Thanks. This should solve my problems?
  16. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Reflashing sbf file enabled me to connect to the computer but I still can't get the market to download apps even after clearing cache. Any other suggestions? btw, thanks for your help.
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Question... why is the market even downloading? Doesn't PE have the market in the system/app folder by default upon install?
  18. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Or are you saying the market won't install any apps itself? Just download them
  19. luv2golf
    Offline

    luv2golf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    I always used CW for nandroids. By reflashing the sbf file it gave me SPRecovery instead. ROM mgr will not let me change recoverys.
    The flash recovery button is not lite up. When I try to flash a different version CW recovery I get an error msg "no legacy recoveries found"
  20. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    luv2golf.. try "Flash Alternate Recovery" which is SP Recovery.. flash that and see if CW will light up for you.