Sysctl settings on liberty gb

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by ldopa, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey has anyone found some modified Sysctl settings on lgb that improve performance /batt life or are the default settings fine the way they are. I was thinking of changing the min free kb a bit. VF Pressure seems good at 50. Can I lower it a little more without having to reboot twice a day to clear it?

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  2. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bump it

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  3. sparkyman

    sparkyman Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    columbia,md
    Ratings:
    +5
    I do 4096
    90
    70
    1

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    So do you have to reboot often with such low vf cache? Thanks

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  5. Cstryon

    Cstryon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Could it being that low cause random reboots?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  6. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not random, but it will cause the phone to get laggy without a reboot to clear the vf cache. The lower the number the better the performance but the more you have to reboot. I'm trying to find balance. I'm using
    4096
    90
    70
    15

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  7. sparkyman

    sparkyman Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    columbia,md
    Ratings:
    +5
    Same as Dominic said

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  8. TheSwaggeR

    TheSwaggeR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    imoseyon had a built-in automatic cache clearer. It would do it for you if you set the schedule for it. You should give him a shout and ask if his tweaks will work for LGB.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  9. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    That would save me my 2 manual reboots a day.

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  10. TheSwaggeR

    TheSwaggeR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks brother. So, quick question. I flashed this and checked it in terminal. How should I use the Sysctl in Liberty settings? Should I keep it disabled now because of the tweak? Will my own values interfere with the tweak? Just want to make sure I get the most out of it! Thanks

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
  12. TheSwaggeR

    TheSwaggeR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From reading in the past, if you apply imoseyon's tweak, you don't need to tweak it in the Sysctl through Liberty settings. His tweaks take care of all that and much more than what is provided in the Liberty Sysctl settings.

    I'm not 100% knowledgeable on this part but if you message imoseyon or find his thread about his Sysctl tweaks, he will assist you. He's a fast responder and extremely helpful. Also, Jboxen can help you with parts of that too.
     
  13. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was reading up on it through his blog last night. Very interesting. Learned a lot about how this tweak works.

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
  14. Tillyswilly

    Tillyswilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bham
    Ratings:
    +0
    i downloaded this the other day and terminal isnt downloaded from the market for some reason but i did go into liberty settings and it did change there
     
  15. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Liberty comes with terminal

    Hi my name is Domenic and im a DroidForums addict
     
Search tags for this page
android performance vf cache presser
,
android vf cache pressure best
,

best sysctl settings droid bionic

,
best vf cache presser setting android
,
best vf cache pressure setting for phone
,
sysctl settings galaxy s4
,
what is minfree kb systctl