1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Sync with Eneterprise server

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by BB enterprise severer, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. BB enterprise severer
    Offline

    BB enterprise severer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to get away from the Storm's, but I am afraid it will not be able to connect with the BB ent ser. Any insight?
  2. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    eerrr.... i thought you could only do that with blackberrys.. can anyone confirm?

    (welcome to the site!)
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    As far as I know, there is no support for the Android and BES. Seeing as RIMM makes a proprietary software / hardware, i think the only kind of phone that can sync with it would be the BB's themselves.
  4. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thats not entirely correct - with BB Connect you can make some Windows Mobile devices connect with the BES. basically it runs a virtual Blackberry on your winmo handset.

    I'm very surprised no one has made this application for Android (i haven't found it yet).
  5. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MES? hmmm....
  6. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    If i'm not mistaken BB makes BB connect. If BB isn't going to make it for android that would mean a 3rd party app would have to interact with BES. I highly doubt a 3rd party app will come out for BB to do this feature, due to the security that RIMM put's into the BES / BB's.
  7. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    it certainly would be nice though...
  8. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly. If you have an enterprise server just use MES.
  9. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But thats exactly what they do for the WinMo BB Connect handsets liek Touch Pro
  10. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    never used a winmo handset, but if they do it for that then they might for android. i guess we will see in a few days, eh?
  11. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Let's take a wait and see on this. Right now there isn't an app for that. Maytbe there will be at one point. Maybe VZW has an answer for this too.
  12. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As of release the only enterprise push the Android will support according to google is Microsoft Exchange Service :icon_ banana:
  13. kesubach
    Offline

    kesubach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone have any updates about the Droid and being able to get to on BES?
  14. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0




    Well HTC built it for windows mobile and i doubt they are smarter than Motorola



    For any application developers reading this post - this functionality is probably worth about $39.99 to me if you get it to work perfectly.
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009