Sync remains on, tried rebooting and still doesn't help

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by masonf24, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off everything looks great and this is my first post! The only thing I want to fix is the sync icon in the notification bar stays on. If i knew it didn't affect my battery life then it doesn't matter. I have tried searching for this but I haven't found any which makes me think i did something wrong. I use titanium backup for my apps and data and gmail for my contacts. thanks in advance for any ideas
     
  2. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    are you using any facebook widget or anything like that. Ideally, it should come up when you boot up the phone, then go away a little after that. i have sync constantly on but i never see the icon in the notification bar. but i am not using any widgets that pull data from the net other than beautiful widgets.

    i just read something about the constant sync coming from people or friends widgets. not really sure how to fix it tho other than getting rid of those widgets.
     
  3. chkmate

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome!

    And you didn't read our "ATTENTION" thread up in sticky's. Read this real quick>>> http://www.droidforums.net/forum/darkslide-x/120473-attention-use-backup-restore-apps.html

    This is why your sync is stuck.
     
  4. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, sounds like you used Titanium backup? ;)


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  5. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Friendly ;)

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  6. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :icon_eek: I obviously didn't search too well if it is titled ATTENTION:). I will let you know if this fixes my problem. Thank you!!!
     
  7. chkmate

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL! Hope I didn't sound rude, didn't mean too. This is by far more of JMT's area

    of specialty. Don't know if you need to do fresh install or not. But I do know I have

    have my auto sync off in TiBU and have never had sync issues.
     
  8. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so i ran the back up all user apps and the next step says to restore all apps + data. do i need to do the bootstrap, reboot, wipe clean, and select zip from sd card before i restore all apps + data. Thank a lot!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you haven't already you will need to stsrt fresh...something thst got restored before is causing your issue...start fresh, you can even restore using the previous backup, just make sure not to restore anything system related...pwrsonally I do not backup/restore apps at all. Android does that for me :D


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No worries, friend! It is a fairly common issue, which i've been meaning to address more properly in the MyDroidWorld thread... :D

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  11. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so now it's worse. i did everything suggested and the sync icon disappeared. i installed the gingerbread keyboard sync icon is still gone. i recovered all my apps from TB and the sync icon was still gone. as soon as i touched my SMS icon to send a message the icon appeared i guess to download there pics but never went away and my battery went from 40% to powering off in less than an hour. So now i am more confused than ever. Thanks for any more help:)
     
  12. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm...well, this is gonna sound like a pain in the ass, but after charging phone back to 100%, reinstall the rom, the keyboard, the black market, etc...but do not use Titanium. allow Google to restore your apps, etc...then, make a nandroid backup (just so you have a place to go back to). then use titanium to restore app data ONLY....if the issue still exists, you can always restore your nandroid backup, and reset everything manually...but at least you'll be halfway there ;)
     
  13. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds good I will try it tomorrow night

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  14. masonf24

    masonf24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In TB do i restore all apps with data or do i restore missing apps with data?
     
  15. NattyBee

    NattyBee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go to "all apps" there should be a way to check which ones you want...selectively restoring apps by checking them off seems to be the safest way...


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
droid x status bars sync active
,

droid x2 constant sync

,
why is there a refresh symbol in my notification bar