Swype

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by Sydman, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Anyone having issues with Swype not auto spacing? I have checked and unchecked the box and still won't work. Have switched back and forth between multi touch and Swype to see if that would work and still nothing.
  2. piggylubber
    Offline

    piggylubber New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to eliminate the more obvious... do you realize that it does not add a space until you swype the next word?
  3. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah I got it working had to uncheck it then change keyboard to multi tap then check it again and go back to swype and it started working.
  4. doctorjan
    Offline

    doctorjan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No auto space/capitalization after period

    It places a space between words, all right, but it's not auto spacing after a period and auto-capitalizing the first word of the next sentence. It treats all periods as though they were the end of a website/email address/file extension (e.g. .com or .net).

    How do I get it to auto-space and auto-capitalize after each period like it did in my Samsung Omnia 2? There was an option for it there.
  5. piggylubber
    Offline

    piggylubber New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So far, I have only been able to do one or the other. If you space after a period you do automatically get a capital...interested to hear if there is a setting I am missing..

    I would like to figure out how to delete words from swype...when I try to do a capital I...I often get ki...which is a word I don't have a need for
  6. doctorjan
    Offline

    doctorjan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just found the answer. If you drag from the period to the space bar, it puts in the space and sets up to CAP the next letter/word. A little more work than it was on the Samsung, but I'll just have to get used to it.

    As for deleting a whole word, place the cursor at the end of the word and hold down the delete key on the keyboard.

    It's odd... I was so used to using a stylus for the slightly smaller Omnia 2 screen, and I can't use a stylus with the Droid X even if I want to. My fingers a a little bigger than the average, I guess, and I hit the wrong key A LOT. More practicing needed, I surmise.

    BTW, usually, I find that just hitting an "i" and then moving on, automatically capitalizes it and makes it an "I."
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
Similar Threads
  1. bforcucci333
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    491
  2. porky101
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    860
  3. gbright666
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,191
  4. n660623x
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    840
  5. dopeskwyd
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,078
Loading...
Search tags for this page

my phone won't automatically put spaces between words

,
samsung galxy swype won'tput spaces
,
swype stopped adding spaces on andriod phoone
,

swype won't add space

,

swype won't add spaces

,

swype won't insert space

,

swype won't put space between words

,

swype won't space

,
swype won't insert spaces
,
why won't my android phone space words when i swype
,
why won't my swype put in spaces
,
why won't swype space words