Swype with Froyo

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by DocDoom187, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. DocDoom187
    Offline

    DocDoom187 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will the version of Swype for the Droid released in June work on a Droid with Froyo?
  2. erikfig
    Offline

    erikfig New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forget about that version!!!! Install BB v0.4 How hard is that!???????????????
  3. DocDoom187
    Offline

    DocDoom187 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my Droid yesterday, still new... So BB v0.4 has an equivalent to Swype? How do I turn it on and work it?
  4. RichSmithSWM
    Offline

    RichSmithSWM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    I updated to Froyo with the forced update. Swype stopped working. The Swype Installer didn't work either. So I uninstalled both Swype and the installer and requested a new one from the beta site and all is well now. I would be very unhappy without Swype.
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2010
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does Bugless Beast have to do with Swype?
  6. EbE404
    Offline

    EbE404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it works fine. Most folks, including myself, have reported needing to uninstall and re-install Swype after flashing Froyo, but after that, it is all good.
  7. snappingfish
    Offline

    snappingfish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where did you find the installer?

    I cant find any trace of the program, OR the installer. I would love to get a new version, but Im stuck.

    Thanks
    fish
  8. KungFuGeek
    Offline

    KungFuGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you have to go to beta.skype.com login, and have them resend the email.
  9. Nibbz
    Offline

    Nibbz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im on motodroid rooted as you can see in my sig below. im wondering how i can get swype on my device? ive downloaded some apks but none have worked.
  10. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you didn't sign up for the Beta on Swype's website before it closed then we cannot help you, Swype considers there Beta testing period to be closed and we respect that here at Droid Forums
  11. Nibbz
    Offline

    Nibbz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well aint that beat
  12. wingsabr
    Offline

    wingsabr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just sign up and swype will let you know when the beta opens again. I got lucky and emailed them one day and got a reply with my install data the next.

    Oh and swype works fine with froyo, bb 0.4 for me.
  13. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's good to know, I signed up while the Beta was still open so no worries here, I know a lot of people are still interested...thanks for posting this
  14. snappingfish
    Offline

    snappingfish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know you meant SWYPE....

    And thats the ticket. Up and running. Thanks,
    fish
  15. snappingfish
    Offline

    snappingfish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rooty tooty


    Well, I signed up BEFORE the beta was closed also. I just didn't think of asking them to re-send...sometimes folks just need help on the up & up.

    I came here looking for assistance, and with no thanks to you, I found it.

    No worries....no one here is trying to pirate anything........
  16. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Snappingfish, you should look back, I wasn't even quoting you.

    And you are right sometimes folks do need help on the up & up, and that is the main reason I am here...but there are people here who are trying to pirate things and if you look at the post I quoted the member said he has tried several swype.apk's which to me means he has been searching the internet for a closed beta swype.apk

    I never even thought twice about your post
  17. snappingfish
    Offline

    snappingfish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well then, my bad

    Thought you were inferring I might be trying to swipe a swype! lol

    Thanks for the clarification.
    fish
  18. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Problem, all of that was well worth the "Swipe a Swype" line ;)
  19. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm glad I found this before I got Froyo...
    I have Swype and love it... so knowing that it'll work with 2.2 just thrills me! :D
  20. bornagainjcl
    Offline

    bornagainjcl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Froyo update

    Every time I try to follow the steps to update my swype keyboard with the new droid update it says "parse error. There is a problem parsing the package." Help!! I hate the droid keyboard!
Search tags for this page

android swype equivalent

,

android swype on froyo

,

swype.apk+android froyo

,

turn on swype froyo