Swype with Froyo

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by DocDoom187, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. DocDoom187

    DocDoom187 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will the version of Swype for the Droid released in June work on a Droid with Froyo?
     
  2. erikfig

    erikfig Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forget about that version!!!! Install BB v0.4 How hard is that!???????????????
     
  3. DocDoom187

    DocDoom187 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my Droid yesterday, still new... So BB v0.4 has an equivalent to Swype? How do I turn it on and work it?
     
  4. RichSmithSWM

    RichSmithSWM Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I updated to Froyo with the forced update. Swype stopped working. The Swype Installer didn't work either. So I uninstalled both Swype and the installer and requested a new one from the beta site and all is well now. I would be very unhappy without Swype.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2010
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    What does Bugless Beast have to do with Swype?
     
  6. EbE404

    EbE404 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it works fine. Most folks, including myself, have reported needing to uninstall and re-install Swype after flashing Froyo, but after that, it is all good.
     
  7. snappingfish

    snappingfish Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    where did you find the installer?

    I cant find any trace of the program, OR the installer. I would love to get a new version, but Im stuck.

    Thanks
    fish
     
  8. KungFuGeek

    KungFuGeek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you have to go to beta.skype.com login, and have them resend the email.
     
  9. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im on motodroid rooted as you can see in my sig below. im wondering how i can get swype on my device? ive downloaded some apks but none have worked.
     
  10. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    If you didn't sign up for the Beta on Swype's website before it closed then we cannot help you, Swype considers there Beta testing period to be closed and we respect that here at Droid Forums
     
  11. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well aint that beat
     
  12. wingsabr

    wingsabr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just sign up and swype will let you know when the beta opens again. I got lucky and emailed them one day and got a reply with my install data the next.

    Oh and swype works fine with froyo, bb 0.4 for me.
     
  13. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    That's good to know, I signed up while the Beta was still open so no worries here, I know a lot of people are still interested...thanks for posting this
     
  14. snappingfish

    snappingfish Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know you meant SWYPE....

    And thats the ticket. Up and running. Thanks,
    fish
     
  15. snappingfish

    snappingfish Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    rooty tooty


    Well, I signed up BEFORE the beta was closed also. I just didn't think of asking them to re-send...sometimes folks just need help on the up & up.

    I came here looking for assistance, and with no thanks to you, I found it.

    No worries....no one here is trying to pirate anything........
     
Search tags for this page

android swype equivalent

,

android swype on froyo

,

swype.apk+android froyo

,

turn on swype froyo