Swype stopped working in 2.2

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by IncredibleUser, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. IncredibleUser

    IncredibleUser New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Swype (beta) keyboard no longer works in 2.2. I went back to using Shapewriter but miss Swype a lot. Any way to get it working again?
     
  2. Dankinia

    Dankinia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uninstall Swype (not the swype installer, but Swype itself) and the launch the Swype installer and redownload. I had the same problem and this worked for me.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2010
  3. IncredibleUser

    IncredibleUser New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bingo! That works, thanks.
     
  4. Dankinia

    Dankinia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your welcome. Glad I could help.
     
  5. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Same thing happened with me and I used the same solution. It took 5 times, but it worked in the end.

    UPDATE:

    I just upgraded to FRG22D. This time it took 4 times.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2010
  6. gsf

    gsf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems to be happening to most swype users after the update, in the blank message box... long press and change the input method, the change it back to swype. Swype seems to stop working after rebooting (powering on) and doing this swype engages again. Why... i don't know, but it works for me.
     
  7. chaz.ring

    chaz.ring Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    dumb question maybe, but how do I get swype in the first place with the HTC Incredible??? I would love to have it :)
     
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    You could try contacting Swype on their website, but as of now the Beta is closed
     
  9. Docinbird

    Docinbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you look, you can find an unauthorized version that runs under froyo. They are out there.
     
  10. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I finally decided to try SlideIt and I LOVE it. I've been using swype for months and didn't think any other keyboard could sway me. The customizable shortkeys are awesome! It annoyed the crap out of me that the ! or ? weren't on the main screen so I just made some shortkeys (zx combo for ! and zc combo for ?). I also made shortcuts for all the smilies so I don't have to click all those menu keys to get the smiley in the text. It's well worth checking out the demo. :D
     
  11. chaz.ring

    chaz.ring Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also downloaded SlideIT yesterday.....wow, its great and is not taking me much time to get the hang of it. I'll def. be buying the full ver.:)
     
  12. gsf

    gsf Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Swype is becoming more problems then its worth, it may be free, but i would rather pay for App that works problem free... than having a free App that have's nothing but problems.

    I'm checking out Slide-it now... does any have both Apps on their phone since you can choose IMPUT method choosing either Swype or SlideIt.
     
  13. grenade01

    grenade01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually swype does have hotkeys built in for ! ? " etc. you just drag from the key they are in the background over to the space bar key. Also theres a few others built in if you swype from the space to a letter or from a letter to space bar.
     
  14. grenade01

    grenade01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just tried a few messages with slideit. i like the way the keys are shaped and spaced more, but man it's getting a lot of words wrong with perfect looking traces. I think ill stick to swype!
     
Search tags for this page

droid swype stopped working