Swype question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by FootballRef, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. FootballRef
    Offline

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I make a mistake on Swype, I will double tap the word that needs to be corrected. I will then make my correction. When I got to my next work it will often leave a double space in front of the word I just corrected.

    Anyone know how to keep Swype from doing this? It is a small issue, but it drives me nuts. :)
     
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,051
    Likes Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +761
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    No idea.

    I had the Swype beta and all of a sudden the swyping part of it stopped working so i uninstalled it.
     
  3. FootballRef
    Offline

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the Swype app. Just this one small issue had kept me from using it before. I am now trying to get back to using it, but still annoyed by this

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. FootballRef
    Offline

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    Turning the auto space off helps. Just have to hit the space bar after every writs now.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,728
    Likes Received:
    783
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +807
    have you tried tapping the space bar once?
    When a word I don't , for whatever reason,want comes up I tap the swype icon and space once, it deletes the word and goes back to where it started.
    Just for fun touch the swype icon and drag to the sym. it opens a new set of options.also try tap swype key and drag up to the F key.

    Support Our Troops!! written in some form from a wifi monolith.
     
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's it. If you want to change Swype's settings, well go to Swype's settings to change them. ;)
     
  7. FootballRef
    Offline

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I don't understand why it double spaces after correcting a misspelled word.
     
  8. joekinde
    Offline

    joekinde New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    also, instead of double-tapping the word, you can press the 'swype' key to bring up the list of correct word options. I haven't had the double-space problem that you describe using that 'swype' key.
     
  9. FootballRef
    Offline

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    That seems to work...Thanks!!
     
  10. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone else have trouble with "Ii" when trying to do a capital 'I'... I have to 'remove' it from the dictionary after EVERY restart... getting real annoying.
     
Search tags for this page

android phone keeps losing auto space in swype