Swype problem...

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by SStratman, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. SStratman

    SStratman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone help me with an issue I'm having with swype?
    Swype quit working a few hours ago with word prediction so i uninstalled it as I have in the past when I get weird glitches...but upon reinstall it did the same only worked as regular keyboard and wouldnt "swype"

    So earlier tonite I upgraded to 4.7 and seems pretty nice btw! anyways so I try a uninstall and reinstall of swype after the upgrade and upon install swype installer says its already installed but swype isnt EXCEPT it shows up in applications where i can uninstall but doesnt show up in app drawer or in keyboards...so then I uninstall it and swype installer and try a few reinstall of both but same thing happens...is there a way to use terminal emulator to REALLY make sure its uninstalling and leaving no traces behind or something?
     
  2. y0rk

    y0rk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm not positive on how it works but if you uninstall the app then go into settings>chevyno1 tools>scripts>backup and restore> Fix Permissions. It should go through and remove the left over traces of the app. Then try another install of the swype installer and let it do it thing.

    When i loaded 4.7 on top of 4.6 swype acted glitchy and when i did a wipe and clean install it told me i needed a newer version. It has been working fine since then
     
  3. domnisoara

    domnisoara New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never got the official Swype beta + installer to work correctly. I think I had the same issues as SStratman. I think what the problem was is that they only give you a certain number of installs, and since I had never gotten it to install successfully, I ran out of my allotment.

    I ended up just downloading this hacked one:
    Download: New Swype Beta | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

    It should still work.
     
  4. K1K

    K1K Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    St.Louis,MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    uninstall swype, and uninstall swype installer. reboot. go to swypes website and have them resend you the invite. download a new version of the swype installer run it and follow the directions. worked for me after upgrading to 4.7 from 4.6. no wipe data or cache.
     
  5. RedBull

    RedBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried both suggestions, uninstalling and completely wiping all traces AND fix permissions. Neither worked. It always unchecks the box in the settings, and then the MM theme I applied doesn't even show up.
     
  6. ecfiffer

    ecfiffer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    huh, that dosent sound very good for ya. i was about to tell you that i uninstalled jus tthe keyboard and launched the installer again and it downloaded/installed just fine...
     
  7. droid_freak

    droid_freak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had some problems with other ROMs, so I just made sure the installer and swype were removed from SD Card and system memory. Use the original email and link to download the installer again. It has worked for me each time. As far as allotments for installs go I have loaded swype 28 times and never had a problem.
     
  8. Lloyds

    Lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Swype didn't work for me after updating to 4.7 (without wiping) from 4.6. I uninstalled both Swype and the Swype Installer, requested a new installer link be sent to me from the Swype Beta page, and re-installed. Works just fine now.
     
  9. amber013188

    amber013188 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have the link for the swype for droid. I downloaded the apk droid life community sent me, but the trial ran out as soon as i went to use it grrr
     
  10. Duhman

    Duhman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sent you a PM.
     
  11. mloewen

    mloewen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you send it to me too?
    Thanks
    Mark
     
  12. Duhman

    Duhman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check your inbox!
     
  13. sslbaron

    sslbaron Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dover, DE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you send to me too please? :)
     
  14. gvarv

    gvarv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Need swype

    Could you please pm me a link too? Pretty please?
     
  15. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This still doesn't work for me..

    I have the same problem as above.. wont swype, but can type (4.7)

    Perhaps I'm not removing all traces of swype? Does someone know all the folders to delete after uninstalling?
     
Search tags for this page
duhman
,

swype troubleshooting

,
trouble shot swype