Swype problem

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jbrock98, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. jbrock98
    Offline

    jbrock98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swype just stops working randomly, I have to uninstall and reinstall to get it to work, this has happened on other froyo roms but seems to be more frequent on 4.4, is this a swype problem?

    Sent from my Simply Stunning Droid using Tapatalk
  2. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Theres a reason its swype beta...



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. Droman
    Offline

    Droman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you should try SlideIT which is on the Market for 6 months
  4. djrakun
    Offline

    djrakun New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You probably don't need to install/uninstall. Go to language and keyboard settings and check the swype button. That happens to me from time to time.

    I don't think slideIT has a free download option so you can't try it out to see if you like it. You'll just have to take everyone's word that it is as good as swype, minus this annoying bug
  5. 91LudeSiT
    Offline

    91LudeSiT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA
    I don't have said bug are you using the latest beta.
  6. Jester6x
    Offline

    Jester6x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking of installing this, but heard some mixed reviews since its a beta. 91LudeSiT you said you didn't have that issue, what version are you using and where can I download it?

    Thanks
  7. Quantify
    Offline

    Quantify New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also using swype, no bugs at all. Love this keyboard!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. 91LudeSiT
    Offline

    91LudeSiT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA
    I am using the latest beta, but if you don't have a beta account you can't install it. It asks for your username and pass when you install it.
  9. jbrock98
    Offline

    jbrock98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My last version ran out then I got the new one droid-life put on their page, I know its beta but I never had a problem w/ the last version, oh and how do ppl get the swype application in their app drawer? I see the swype icon in the app drawers on some screen shots, I've got the swype file in a folder along w/ other app's apks, I just click on it and open app manager and install, I've always done this

    Sent from my Simply Stunning Droid using Tapatalk
  10. dclutter1
    Offline

    dclutter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Next time, before you reinstall it, try long pressing on a text entry box and select input method. Then select the default keyboard, then do that again and select swype. I had been reinstalling too until the other day when I tried this, pretty much by accident, and it worked. It wasnt on this rom but it still might work for you. Worth a try.
  11. jbrock98
    Offline

    jbrock98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That has worked in the past but not this time


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0

    This is just the Swype Installer App, not the actual Swype app. When I signed up to be a Beta Tester I was prompted via email to download the Installer app and it is through the installer app that I downloaded Swype itself. The Installer App is just a quick Link to any Swype Updates.

    For the Original Question...no problems with Swype at all, it works Flawlessly for me.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2010
  13. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    If you get it from the Market, you have a 24-hour period to try out a purchased app and get a refund if you don't like it and uninstall.
  14. jayarmstrong
    Offline

    jayarmstrong New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and slideIT does have a free version so you can check it out. None of the slide keyboards are perfect and they all get some things right and some wrong. SlideIT holds its own, IMO.