Swype on DI?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by chimera, May 3, 2010.

  1. chimera
    Offline

    chimera Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have seen other posts claiming that it is possible to get the Swype keyboard program on Android phones, in reference to the Droid, but I would like for someone to confirm that it is (or is not) possible to use the Swype keyboard on the DI. Also, how well does it work. I would really be dissapointed if the DI cannot use Swype, which has been great for me.

    Thanks, sorry if this has been posted here before.
  2. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it should work however the beta registration is closed now :(

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the one from my droid working on my DI, but it keeps popping up with a message saying it's not formatted for the proper screen size.... so I went back to the HTC keyboard.
  4. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh that's right I forgot the screens resolutions are slightly different.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. Capt.D
    Offline

    Capt.D Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using it...Works pretty darn good....PM me if you want details
  6. Phillipsave
    Offline

    Phillipsave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have read that the Nexus One version works.
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    835
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +840
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
  8. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    Ratings:
    +20
  9. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    For those who are in the official beta test group and have changed from, say, the Droid to the Incredible, you can contact Swype and they'll send you another invitation that will allow you to download the beta for your new phone.
  10. Cauterized
    Offline

    Cauterized New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The N1 version does work in both portrait and landscape without any error messages.

    But now that I know they'll resend a working copy for the incredible from the beta I think I will get a copy from them too.
  11. QuePaso
    Offline

    QuePaso New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using the swype for incredible, works a treat.
  12. c_law23
    Offline

    c_law23 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newark, Oh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am as well, and it does as well.

    Except for when I swype in dont. It always gives me font and sometimes dint, its driving me nuts! Lol
  13. ctxx24
    Offline

    ctxx24 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pm me if you want the downloads for the black n green,blue or red swype downloads. they work great on the inc
  14. Steven58
    Offline

    Steven58 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the swype for N1. If anyone wants it anyone of us over at the chat channel (below) can help you. They helped me. It's working fine for me. You don't have to be so accurate either, believe me I'm not. It feels as if it's reading my mind sometimes! :O