swype not working

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by MckeanOne, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. MckeanOne

    MckeanOne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone have swype stop working on them?
     
  2. SStratman

    SStratman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup...i was using a milestone copy of swype because i DO have a beta signup with swype but couldnt get it to work...anyways yesterday or last nite mine quit too and so I did some research and got the latest september version of swype to install/work!!!

    Basically got swype installer downloaded and swype installed from that which incidentally FAILED to work as usual so the steps with both installed for it to work for me were to...
    go into keyboard settings and make sure swype is UNCHECKED
    go into apps and clear data/cache on swype then uninstall
    go into apps and clear data/cache on swype installer and then uninstall it as well
    I believe I then did a reboot
    once booted I cleared cache with cachemate and clear dalvik cache with titanium backup
    next make sure no app killer is active (autokiller, ATK) and then go into apps and FC everything you can thats not part of android OS to free up as much memory as possible
    (I think FCing all apps other then android necessary ones was the KEY step, along with pressing back instead of done once swype says its installed, for it too work, i think its just really finicky in that it wants alot of free memory when installing!)
    then redownload swype installer and install swype with it and when it says swype is installed DO NOT click done instead press the BACK button on your Droid and then instead of getting the usual "swype is already installed on this device" BS popup it said "registering swype" and then it worked!
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  3. Uglymouse

    Uglymouse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    About a week ago I got an email from Swype sayng that there was a new version of Swype, and that the current version that I had would stop working soon. When it wouldn't work yesterday, I went back to the email which had a link to a new installer. I used that and got the new version that works.
     
  4. jim1974

    jim1974 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 on this. I did the same thing and its working fine.
     
  5. nagmier

    nagmier Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a similar problem, I had to uninstall reboot then reinstall to get it to work
     
  6. FastKatt

    FastKatt Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mine won't take the new install

    It says it's not built for my phone...

    Maybe it's a ROM issue?
     
  7. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,713
    Likes Received:
    167
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +168
    I went back to my email and successfully installed it on my Droid 1.
     
  8. FastKatt

    FastKatt Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you do anything special that time?
     
  9. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    im in the beta got the email and it works fine after installing it to the phone and not the sd card
     
  10. FastKatt

    FastKatt Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not asked where to install it?
     
  11. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    right. you have to move it under the applications thing in settings.
     
  12. FastKatt

    FastKatt Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, mine was on the phone & moving it to the SD card is grayed out...
    That's not it...
     
  13. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    I also got my update Swype email and I was easily able to uninstall the previous version, download the new installer, through the installer sign in and download my new swype.apk and install it with no problems...I did notice after install I had to press the back key to enable swype

    After this I was able to move it back into the system and reapply sneaky_zeke's MM for Swype with success :)

    Original Droid
     
  14. lvnvmatt

    lvnvmatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone post a link to the new installer, I never joined the beta program but would like to install swipe on my Droid 1 (UD 8.0)?

    -Matt
     
  15. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'm afraid on an unrooted Droid 1, there isn't a back key. On the installer, the only option after install is "Done" and the return button doesn't help either.


    I'm afraid that's not allowed on this forum.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
Search tags for this page
droid x swype not responding
,
installed swype but not working
,
my droid says swype is installed but does not show up on my keyboard
,
swype installed but not running
,

swype installed but not working

,
swype not working incredible
,
swype not working on droid
,
swype quit working
,
swype stopped working
,
swype stopped working after cleared cache