Swype not working- help

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Goofy Yno, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Goofy Yno
    Offline

    Goofy Yno New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    scottsdale, Az
    Both my wife and I have been using swype since it was bootlegged. we re-in stalled the beta version. My has worked perfectly. Hers stopped working. I have uninstalled and re installed a few times. still wont work.

    after getting used to swype, it is almost impossible to go back.
  2. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Search wants to be your friend...Please get acquainted.

    The beta version of Swype has a known bug. When the power on a phone is recycled, Swype is "dis-enabled." The workaround is as follows.

    () Go to a text field in an application.

    () Long press the field and go to "input method."

    () Select "Android Keyboard."

    () Return to the app.

    () Repeat long press.

    () Then select "Swype."
  3. dvap00
    Offline

    dvap00 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
  4. seansdroid49
    Offline

    seansdroid49 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded this file to my phone did everything i needed to do. It installed fine on my phone go to open it and as soon as I try to input something it tells me my trial has ended. I uninstalled it the first time for this reason. Is there another version out??? I thought i read somewhere there was two versions of it.
  5. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Try the instructions in the post above (to re-enable the swype keyboard) and let us know if that works.
  6. Wildphins
    Offline

    Wildphins New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have used both the beta and the trial. the keyboard works as a normal keyboard and the swype does not work at all. I cant seem to find the input menu when i do a long press. help.
  7. jsmuli2
    Offline

    jsmuli2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    no dice, is there an upgrade ?
  8. mpenda
    Offline

    mpenda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    There used to be a leaked version which has since expired. Then they offered a bunch of slots for beta testers. That has since closed, to the best of my knowledge. So I'm not sure how you would get a working version, if you weren't accepted as a beta tester.

    What do you get when you try to use Swype? Any error message or does it just beep at you?
  9. jsmuli2
    Offline

    jsmuli2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    It just doesn't input any text and then it says "Your Trial period has expired. Upgrade to latest version" (or something like that...too lazy)

    w/e I will wait for the official release. If it's as hot as people say it is, then the developers deserve my 3 bucks.
  10. mpenda
    Offline

    mpenda New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Sounds like the leaked version....
    If you haven't already tried it, install "Slide It" which works in a similar fashion as Swype. Its better than the default virtual keyboard, but not quite as elegant as Swype.
  11. jsmuli2
    Offline

    jsmuli2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the "Free" version work for all text input areas?
  12. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    The beta version (there is no "free" version; it's not a released app) works for all text entry.
  13. jsmuli2
    Offline

    jsmuli2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found "ShapeWriter" it's free and pretty slick. Takes a while to get used to.
  14. Goofy Yno
    Offline

    Goofy Yno New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    scottsdale, Az
    I uninstalled then reinstalled my swype (beta) 3 times, on the last attempt, I finally got it working. :)
  15. Nom Prophet
    Offline

    Nom Prophet New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Swapping input methods worked, but I feel like it might go back to just being able to only press the keys after a reboot. I'll probably try the reinstall.
  16. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My problem is a bit odder. It installs and even told me it needed updating and it downloaded the tile. When I use swype it traces the letters but nothing on the screen.
    When I hunt and peck the keyboard it displays the letters then.
    Like part of the program is broke.
  17. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to uninstall Swype as well as the Swype installer and reinstall if that's happening. Don't forget Swype's own forums.
  18. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Duh! Worked great, should have thought of it, thanks!
  19. Irfan
    Offline

    Irfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    samsung galaxy s3 swype

    I saw my dads phone had a swype option in the. Languages and input section....I checked my phone it doesnt have that option...called sprint and they couldnt figure it out..help me
  20. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The S3 does not come with Swype. Have you installed the Swype beta?
Search tags for this page
android swype not working
,
droid razr maxx swype not working
,
my swype is not working
,
my swype stopped working
,
swype for android not working
,
swype keyboard not working
,

swype not working

,
swype not working on droid
,
what to do when your phone is not letting you swype to text
,
why did my swype stop working
,
why does swype stop working
,
why is my swype not working
,
why is swype not working
,
why is swype not working on my phone
,
why swpekey stops