Swype keyboard issue when not in an app.

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by hydro556, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. hydro556
    Offline

    hydro556 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently got a Samsung Galaxy S3 and absolutely love it. I have finagled my way into getting lots of early upgrades, etc, and have tried quite a few Droid phones in the past 2 years, and have been impressed with some, but the GS3 is hands down the best device I have ever tried. Just really well designed, with lots of cool extras and everything seems to work just like it should(not to mention the best real world battery life I have ever experienced). Samsung blew it out of the park on this device, and I can actually see keeping it happily for a couple years.

    Anyway, to my problem. My GS3 has Swype installed for its keyboard. I love Swype and have since I originally got the Swype beta a couple phones back.

    If I remember correctly, and I am pretty sure I do, Swype worked great when I first got it installed on my S3. It worked in all formats, be it sending email, Gmail or typing a post here on Droidforums. Then, for some reason a couple weeks back, I noticed that it would no longer Auto-capitalize, or automatically insert spaces between words (I have checked the Swype settings and it IS set to do these things) if I was typing a thread or a reply here on DF. Then I checked around, same thing on SnipersHide, RFC, or any other internet forum I use. BUT, it still works perfectly on email, Gmail, or Notepad, etc. Pretty much everything that is an actual App, as opposed to just a general internet forum.

    So, when I am not in an app, I have to capitalize everything myself as well as actually hitting the space bar on the Swype keypad every time I go to the next word(and it is annoying!). But again, if in an app it handles all that just right.

    So I am hoping one of you guys that seem to know freaking everything about devices, OS's and apps can help me out. Thanks.
  2. Miller6386
    Offline

    Miller6386 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Are you visiting the forum in the browser? I don't think that auto correct works in "browser type pages" I know it doesn't work in facebook app or any website I visit.... I am not sure why this is but I am assuming any app that works with the html might be doing this..........
  3. hydro556
    Offline

    hydro556 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, anytime I am in a browser, looking at any internet forum, it doesnt work.

    But what is weird is that it has worked fine before. It just started messing up. Also, on my Nexus 7 tablet, Swype works just fine in browsers, and everywhere else I have tried. So, it did work on my S3, but no longer does.

    Anyone else have any thoughts?
  4. hydro556
    Offline

    hydro556 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump. Still doing it. Got to the point that I had to kill swype and go with Samsung's keyboard.

    Want swype back.
  5. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That actually sounds like a browser issue. Was probably updated in the background and now its text bars are not optimized to work with Swype. Has happened to me a few times in the past with browsers and it eventually just resolved itself.

    However, like you, I primarily used Swype for years. Then I went to Swiftkey, which I loved, but I missed Swype. Now, at last, Swiftkey has released its "SwiftFlow" keyboard, or Swiftkey 3, which is a combination of SwiftKey and Swype. It's great. The swyping feels slightly different. It's a little more fluid but you have to go just a hair slower. Also after you complete a word, SwiftKey will try to determine what you'll say next, as opposed to what you might have been trying to say with Swype. It's different, but after a week of using it, I am enjoying it more than I ever have Swype or "Slide" or whatever that other rip off keyboard was called. It get's more and more accurate every time you use it, so bare with it at first, and you'll see what I mean.

    Also Swiftkey has navigation arrows at the bottom, which I'm addicted to. No more having to perfectly align the little slider thing to fix one letter. You have to download it online as it's a beta and not in the Play Store yet, but you can do it through your phone then just open downloads and install. Highly recommended!
  6. sherri
    Offline

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Expires though...I think after 15 days....

    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk 2
  7. sherri
    Offline

    sherri Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I just found TouchPal, which is absolutely quite nice! Have been looking forever to find one that was just right.... this seems to be it!

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk 2
  8. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Have you tried the latest beta 1.4.0.11523?
    It's in public beta now. Don't know if it will help with your issues though.
    I haven't been impressed with the beta's up until this one. It actually seems to be an improvement.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
droid razr keyboard defaulting to swype
,
galaxy s3 swype keyboard glitches
,
keyboard slow to appear on samsung s3
,
new update on galaxy s3 typing messing up
,

problems with swype on galaxy s3

,
samsung galaxy s3 swype keyboard capital
,

samsung galaxy s3 swype problems

,
swype does not insert spaces automatically since latest veri
,
swype doesn't work in browser
,
swype doesnt work in browser droid bionic
,
swype for galaxy s3
,
swype messing up after update
,
swype not automatically inserting spaces
,
swype not working in browser
,
why is everything capitalized when i swype on facebook