Swype just stopped "Swyping"

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jimracloud, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. jimracloud

    jimracloud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Guys! Been running Liberty Rom since it's official release (few days now) and it has been great.....up until today. Swype stopped swyping and throws a "configured for a different device. Contact swype support for assistance" message. The only thing new is that I downloaded the Visual Vmail zip and the google voice search from the market. Anyone have any suggestions as to how to remedy the swype issue? I really need the speech to text and the Visual Vmail. Thanks so much for any input that can be given!

    Jim
     
  2. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,642
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,863
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    Have you tried running the swype installer again?
     
  3. Jasonjohns

    Jasonjohns Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would reinstall like I never had it.
     
  4. tcatt

    tcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that problem a few times with my incredible when it happens select input method switch back to your regular keyboard then immediately switch back to swype the problem should be fixed... a lot quicker then uninstalling and re installing swype
     
  5. jimracloud

    jimracloud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well.... it seems that the file apk that was released for the Visual Voice mail re add after installing the blurrless Liberty is the culprit. apparently it confuses the factory swype version that came with my DX. You guys have any ideas how to remedy this? I actually like the Visual Voicemail app and would like for it to work but not at the expense of Swype!

    Thanks
     
  6. Fleury14

    Fleury14 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Delete visual vm and get google voice
     
  7. tcatt

    tcatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would try going to swype.com and disposing the beta I use it on my incredible and the fix I posted above renews it every time... If you can't do anything else to fix it that is what I would do.
     
Search tags for this page
application swype has stopped unexpectedly
,
swype application stopped unexpectedly
,

swype has stopped unexpectedly

,
swype stopped on my droid
,

swype stopped unexpectedly

,
swype stopped working moto x
,

the application swype has stopped unexpectedly

,
unfortunately swype has stopped
,
unfortunately swype has stopped error
,
unfortunately swype has stopped s4