SWYPE is back

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by oscar, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ambulance Dude

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    texarkana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I must be missing something. I did the ota, opened in asto, launched, changed it in settings. I get the swype keyboad, but I cant swype. What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. oscar

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you uninstall the old one
     
  3. Ambulance Dude

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    texarkana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did. I just downloaded it my computer and moved it over from there, and now it works perfectly.

    Thanks!
     
  4. killabyte

    killabyte Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    umm wtf? swype isn't free... and a moderator POSTED in the thread too? oh i get it, it's ok to pirate it because it only costs a couple of dollars. now if it was a 60 dollar xbox game it would be a different story, right?

    right?
     
  5. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uh swype is currently in private beta, it's not a paid app...

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. laurieb

    laurieb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so I downloaded this onto my pC and now what do I need to do?

    Not sure how I get it to my phone to use it?

    I need lots of help!

    Do I need astro file manager or what?

    Thanks,Laurieb
     
  7. killabyte

    killabyte Guest

    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh, so because it's a beta it's free. I get it.

    Thanks very much for contacting us. No, their activity is absolutely not legal. We’ve been aware of this sort of thing for a while, and have emailed countless moderators, but we’re a small company and so it’s hard to stay on top of it all. We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

    Franklin Page
    Swype - Text Input for Screens
    franklin.page@swypeinc.com
    www.swype.com
     
  8. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    uh oh, moderators not following their own rules
     
  9. Davew

    Davew New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it me or does the swipe action not work when using the number pad? :blink:
     
  10. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49

    All right, where can we get this and pay for it? FWIW, I signed up for the Beta testing, although the version I got wouldn't swipe on the Droid.
     
    #22 aaf709, May 3, 2010
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  11. killabyte

    killabyte Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like it's still in beta and not for public use/sale until they are done with that.
     
  12. Romple

    Romple Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't - yet. Their beta program is available to "a limited group" and it is not meant for public distribution. Therefore any leaks, and persons using such leaks, are against whatever legal agreement Swype, Inc. set forth that beta participants probably agreed to when they got in.

    Coming from a gaming community perspective, it is somewhat surprising seeing beta leaks almost endorsed by a forum.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
how do i get swype back for droid, 2014
,

how do i get swype backvafter i downloaded the latest droid version on my phone