SWYPE is back

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by oscar, May 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    3rd one down
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 3, 2010
  2. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, still doesn't work.
     
  3. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    it worked for me did you uninstall the old swype from your phone? i did it ota it worked like a charm
     
  4. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the swype keyboard that is in this download have the speech to text mic?

    thanks
     
  5. Sweet Kitten Feet
    Offline

    Sweet Kitten Feet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    downloaded. Can I get a little help on how to install it? What folder it should go in, etc.?
     
  6. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    no it doesn't
     
  7. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never installed Swype but o just did OTA and it wouldn't work. It would just beep after trying to swype.
     
  8. Davew
    Offline

    Davew New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    i downloaded the file on my Pc renamed it with a .jpg extension
    and emailed it to my phone
    in the downloads directory on the phone it was there witha .jpg extension
    I renamed it to a .apk and installed it
    :)
     
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nice entrance, Davew. :welcome: to the Droid Forums.:)
     
  10. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    go into astro, then goto the download folder select "Droid.Swype.Beta.5612" then "open app manager" than "launch" and after that goto "settings" then "language and keyboard settings" and select swype and you should be able to swype like crazy


    i hope that helps
     
  11. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow! This is working great! I just wish it had the microphone for speech to text.
     
  12. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, i cant live without it!
     
  13. Ambulance Dude
    Offline

    Ambulance Dude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    texarkana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I must be missing something. I did the ota, opened in asto, launched, changed it in settings. I get the swype keyboad, but I cant swype. What am I doing wrong?
     
  14. oscar
    Offline

    oscar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you uninstall the old one
     
  15. Ambulance Dude
    Offline

    Ambulance Dude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    texarkana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did. I just downloaded it my computer and moved it over from there, and now it works perfectly.

    Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
how do i get swype back for droid, 2014
,

how do i get swype backvafter i downloaded the latest droid version on my phone