Swype in Portrait only?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by STIDRIVER, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've seen this question asked before, but can't find an answer. I like swype a lot, but I only like to use it in portrait mode. In landscape, the strokes are too long and its kind of tedious, and slower that conventional typing.. which defeats the purpose (for me anyways). I was wondering if there is a way to make Swype the default for portrait, and regular android the default for landscape. If this is not possible, are any of the other Swype alternatives (slideIT, Shapewriter) able to do this?
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    You could long press on the text box to change it to a different keyboard. That's the only way you're going to be able to do that as far as i know.
  3. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I've seen this question asked several times. And as far as I know Corina is correct. One can change to another input method in landscape mode (and back again in portrait mode) on a case by case basis. That's definitely not ideal, of course. It would be better to have a default input method based on the screen orientation but as far as I know no such application exists.

    But I'm not sure that people asking the question understand that the Swype keyboard can be "tapped" just like the default android keyboard. I don't like to use it that way but I'm not a "thumber." In any event it seems no worse (to me) than the standard tap keyboard for the Droid.
  4. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, maybe it was just user error or the older version I was using.. but it seemed like tapping each letter would allways bring up the box with several words in it.. slowing you down. But I just tried, and it works just like the normal keyboard (just like you said :) ). The keys are larger as well, which is nice.... And the long press switcharoo is an ok workaround as well... thx guys!
  5. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    You may have had "predictive text" checked in your preferences in the previous version. I find that option to be, ahem, problematic at best.
Search tags for this page

legend of zelda

,

navigation app for android